Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Absolutely wonderful recipe! The only changes I made were: I boiled a whole chicken (covered completely in water in a stock pot) with carrots and a 1/2 white onion-wedged (I did not have celery or else I would have used this as well), seasoned liberally with Salt, Pepper Garlic Powder and Poultry seasoning. Boiled for about an hour, then followed recipe completely except I had to double the rue in order to get the soup to have a thicker consistency. It still wasn't as thick as I would have liked, but it was WONDERFUL!! Next time, I am probably going to double the dumplings, though. They were so good and reminded me of my mom's cooking while growing up in Texas! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. Did use chicken stock and some chopped onion, carrot, and celery. First time making chicken and dumplings and it came out just wonderful. There were no leftovers and can't wait to make it again! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD!!! Made exactly as recipe stated! Big hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have been making chicken and dumplings for years, and until my husband ate mine he swore he hated chicken and dumplings, but now loves them. Today I decided I wanted to try it someone elses way. While I think they are great, I know my hubby will not eat them. The dumplings are way too doughy. I always make a regular biscuit dough, roll out pretty thin (maybe 1/4 inch thick), and cut my dumplings into squares. That way does not leave you with a raw dough taste. Also I use canned broth with poultry seasoning, white pepper, and onion powder. I always cook my chicken, then take it out, do the dumplings THEN add the chicken back to the pot. While I think this is a good recipe, I don't like the baking mix part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
this is a great recipe to make. I added garlic, carrots, thyme and bay leaves for extra flavor. really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different instead of water I used chicken broth. This was the best chicken and dumplings I have ever had. My daughter loved it and she is a very picky eater. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Definetly use broth instead of water and bullion. I used dark meat (personal preference). With the broth 5 stars, without only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Great recipe for quick Chicken and Dumplings, only thing is the dumplings would've been better rolled out and cut into squares instead of clumps. Other than that we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
As everyone else mentioned - I used broth instead of water. Much better flavor. I added in some cut onion, celery, peas and carrots. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was really good, and my family loved it. I've tried to make dumplings before, but they've never turned out. This time, perfection! Like many others here, I also used chicken broth instead of water. I added frozen mixed vegetables and simmered them for a couple of minuteds, added cut-up leftover roasted chicken, sage and marjoram, but otherwise follwed the directions here for the thickening and the dumplings. There was plenty left over so we had it again the next night and it was still delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States