Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was always scared to try to make chicken and dumplings but this recipe made it so simple! I followed the recipe with just a few changes. I Use Chicken breasts with rib meat, add 3 chicken bouillon cubes some poultry seasoning, garlic powder, celery, and carrots to the water. I removed the chicken let it cool than put it back in the pot and add the butter and 1 can of cream of chicken soup, bring it to a boil add some frozen peas than thicken it with the flour and water mixture. I use Jiffy baking mix for the dumplings and my fiance and 2 year old love this recipe. I have it cooking (for the fourth time since I found this recipe) as I write this review. This time It was requested that I make extra so my fiance can take some to his coworker tonight! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Wow! I am not a good cook, but .... This fecipe turned out fabulous. I did 4 cups chicken broth and 3 cups water with 1 chicken oxo cube. I added celery and shredded carrots like other reviews suggested. I wanted to add the can of cream of chicken soup but accidentally opened a can of coconut thai soup .... What a pleasant error. So scrumptious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Oh holy delicious!!!!! This is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was exactly what I was looking for! I had to increase the water a big to cover my chicken and I did add seasonings (garlic, garlic salt, pepper, herb-ox, minced onions) to taste and carrots for my family, but other then that I made no changes. This was a huge hit and I know I will be making it time and time again! Thank you so much for sharing! This hit the spot on a cold winter's night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, however I modified it a bit. Within those 6 cups of water, I added to chicken bouillon cubes, and a packet of chicken flavor booster by Swanson. I also used cornstarch instead of flour. My Husband and 2 small kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I thought the flour mixture made it too thick and gave it a weird flavor. Will try again but with 1/2 the recommended flour. Dumplings weren't bad but some of them were gooey, or too dense. Thank you for the spatula trick because my chicken was definitely sticking to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Very good recipe for the dumplings. I always boil a whole chicken and use the broth. I also add a chicken cube for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Pretty good dumplings. I made my own biscuit mix from a recipe on the internet (flour, baking powder, cream of tarter, shortening, salt) and added frozen carrots. I also used a chicken carcass that bf had picked relatively clean, so I cooked that for several hours to get the meat off the bones, then removed the bones and proceeded with the recipe. I added carrots and canned chicken to make it more chicken-y since the carcass didn't have a ton. I also made this in the crockpot--the dumplings took about 1/2 hour/45 minutes in the crockpot. This is very filling--I'm stuffed! And bf seemed to enjoy it since he had two bowlfuls as well as the rest of mine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Loved the recipe even my picky eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a great base recipe! I added a can of cream of chicken and about 2 cups of chicken broth because I used 2 cans of biscuits along with BISQUICK -- The entire family likes more dumplings than a standard recipe calls for! I will also say that butter-tasting biscuits really makes the juice TASTY! (And yes, fattening) :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this recipe Saturday. Everyone loved it, including me, and I am not a dumpling fan! I added about 2 teaspoons of garlic granules and 2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro. I will definitely make it again soon! I also made the "baking mix" instead of using a prepared mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States