Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Fabulous recipe, very easy, the broth is just perfect. One thing I want to add, for people who are new to making dump;ings (most recipes for dumplings aren't newbie-friendly) is make sure your dumpling mixture is a wet-sticky dough. If you make the dough too dry and pliable, your dumplings will come out too chewey, A sticly-wet dough will make a soft, fluffy and delicious dumpling. Unforunately I learned this through experimentation and not the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Ok, let me begin by saying that I'm writing this review as this particular dish cools to an acceptable eating temperature. However, I have had a few bites of it - practicing the "reverse blow" method - and let me tell you...it is good. I modified the recipe only VERY slightly. I substituded "cream of chicken AND mushroom" (Cambells - at Publix) for plain cream of chicken. I didn't measure onions or celery - used 1 whole (medium) onion, and 2 1/2 stalks of celery. I added approximately 1/3 package of sliced baby portobello mushrooms. Can we tell I like 'shrooms? I must admit, I did peek once after adding the dumplings, but I was afraid that if I didn't stir it at least once, something would burn. I would suggest, you prepare the rounded dumplings while allowing the simmering process to take place. After letting the dumplings cook, I did add a combination of 2 heaping teaspoonfuls of cornstarch + ~1/2 cup of extremely cold water = a thicker base. Total cooking time, an hour and a half. Then again - I was drinking bottles of Budweiser during the wait - so I didn't mind too much. I fully intend on keeping this recipe around for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Absolutely fantastic recipe. I'm not much of a cook; I'm the baker in the family and my husband cooks. But he wasn't feeling well so I wanted to make him something easy and delicious and comforting. I've never made a dish similar to this, and I expected it to be difficult, but it was very easy to make, and an absolute hit. I omitted the celery seed; otherwise I followed the recipe as written. The whole family loved it. My one criticism: I would double the soup for a family of four. There were enough dumplings but we needed more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site. I would rate it a 4.5 if i could, the only reason its not five is because I had to make a number of changes to make it really perfect. I usually add some extra veggie, celery, onion, carrots, peppers. whatever I have on hand. I also add some garlic, a bay leaf and poultry seasoning. I add some fresh herbs (parsley, or dill) to the dumplings. With these change the recipe is DEFINATELY a fice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This is a definate keeper with a couple moderations. I added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup, instead of 1. Instead of using chicken broth (it's so expensive in the store for just a small can), I cooked my chicken by boiling it in salted water with 4 chicken bouillon cubes. In addition to celery seed, I added a pinch of sage (or about 1/4 tsp.), a pinch of garlic powder, a dash (or about 1 tsp.) of basil, a dash of thyme. I would omit the onion the next time. It ended up stuck to the bottom of the stew when I steamed the dumplings. In my opinion, it doesn't need them. This makes a wonderful chicken stew. It's thicker than my mom used to make, but frankly, it's better that way! The dumplings are just like Mom made, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordst2
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Fantastic recipe! As other reviewers have done I did tweak the base to my taste, but the dumplings were absolutely perfection just as written. In the end, the dumplings are what make, or break, this recipe. I made a double recipe to feed 8 so I used a Dutch oven. Also, I seared the chicken and veggies first in the Dutch oven so none of the flavor was lost, removed them, made the soup, and added the veggies and chicken back at the point the recipe says to do it. I added sliced mushrooms to the onion and celery mix. I also added thawed frozen peas just before dropping the dumplings in. With a single recipe a large sauce pan would be fine, but doubling the recipe I was glad to have the surface area of the Dutch oven for the dumplings. Finally, after reading reviews I went low sodium with every ingredient and the result was not too salty at all…. On a comfort food scale of 1-10 this was an 11+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great recipe. I added 1/2 cup chopped carrots and sauted them with the celery, onions and chicken. I also added an extra can of chicken broth and cream of chicken soup. This made for more broth. I added two diced and peeled potatos to the broth when I added the chicken mixture. A little parsley in the dumplings made them a little prettier. I just loved this recipe and my boys did too! I will definatly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
great recipe...here's a piece of dumpling technique for you...before you dip the spoon in the sticky dough to make a dumpling, stuck it in the hot broth...the dumpling will slide off the spoon like nobody's business...you're welcome...smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Scrumptous! This made an excellent dinner that needed no side dishes! You have your meat, vegies and bread all in one stew-like dish. This was the first time I made dumplings and it went quite well. I could have cooked them a tad longer but it was still very good. The changes I made were very minimal. Used Olive oil instead of vegie oil to cook the chicken, onions and celery, added rosemary to the dumplings and did not sift the flour. The next time I make this (and trust me there will be a next time!) I will double the recipe for the broth mixture (cream of chicken, chicken broth and milk) because it could of used more of that and I will season the chicken breast's. I'm not quite sure with what yet but chicken is such a bland meat. It was very moist and tender in this dish though! This was also my husbands first time having chicken and dumplings (weird!) and he liked it. THe only complaint from him was also that it could've used more of the broth mixture. But anyway, FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very yummy! I made some changes due to what I had on hand. I went to take out my chicken thighs and they had turned, so I used the meat from a rotisserie chicken. I also used cream of mushroom soup, with about a tbsp of poultry seasoning. Used sour cream instead of milk, and added carrots. Followed recipe for dumplings exactly, except I added some chives, and they came out perfectly! The trick is to BARELY mix them. My daughter, who is home sick from school, is enjoying this as we speak. Thanks for sharing! PS-If my chicken hadn't gone bad, I planned to brown it directly in the soup pot...why lose flavor in a pan? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States