Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A good recipe. Easy to fix. However, I prefer my chicken and dumplings in more of a thickened broth. It just seemed like it tasted a bit too processed. However, the dumplings were fantastic. I had made dumplings only once in my life and it was disastrous...raw and heavy. I took the advise of one reviewer in that when you mix the ingredients for the dumplings, mix until just incorporated and spoon into hot stew. Dough will be very sticky. That was the key to my success! And I might add....I used a large cookie scoop (the spring-loaded kind) that held about a heaping tablespoon. Sprayed the inside and out with Pam spray. It made quick work of dispensing of the dumplings into the stew. Next time I may tweek this recipe a bit for the stew, but the dumplings will be the same. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great recipe and very easy. The only thing I did different is i used wheat biscuits out of a can to make it even easier (i can't eat white flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very yummy! I made some changes due to what I had on hand. I went to take out my chicken thighs and they had turned, so I used the meat from a rotisserie chicken. I also used cream of mushroom soup, with about a tbsp of poultry seasoning. Used sour cream instead of milk, and added carrots. Followed recipe for dumplings exactly, except I added some chives, and they came out perfectly! The trick is to BARELY mix them. My daughter, who is home sick from school, is enjoying this as we speak. Thanks for sharing! PS-If my chicken hadn't gone bad, I planned to brown it directly in the soup pot...why lose flavor in a pan? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Added more seasoning to taste added about 1/4 cup of sour cream. Did not use celery or celery seed...used carrots about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Pretty good...I left out the celery and onions and added peas, potatoes and carrots to the broth mixture. Next time, I'd leave out the celery seeds as they were a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great flavor. We added basil, cardamom, and garlic to the dumplings. We had plenty of liquids, making the recipe as written. My only complaint was it didn't make a lot. We'll make it again though. I've made this several times, but tonight I added more dumplings (1 1/2x). I used half whole wheat flour in the biscuits and added carrot to the 'soup.' These changes worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
You'll want to Double the broth mixture for sure. I only had 2 large boneless breasts, and still needed to double it. I cooked the breasts in the chicken broth w/onions & seasonings (added a bay leaf, poultry seasoning, dash of garlic powder), then pulled & shredded, back in with the canned soups and milk, added carrots & celery then; simmered about 15 min's then added the dumplings. Add some dry parsley & pepper to the dumplings too. This was actually better than I expected. A good "cheater" chicken and dumpling dish when you don't have the time or ingredients to start with the whole bird. Thx for the tasty short-cut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great! I added the extra broth, carrots and poultry seasoning. Intended to add frozen peas but I forgot until I was at the dinner table-maybe next time. I also cooked the chicken for about 1.5 hours so it was nice and tender. I'll make this again! Tastes just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend and he said it was ok. He's a very picky eater though so it doesn't surprise me. This was his first time eating chicken & dumplings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This recipe is hands down the best chicken and dumplings recipe on this site.. Ive tried down the list from highest to lowest and so far this one is going to be the keeper. I added extra chicken broth as suggested and it came out just right. not too much liquid, just right. I didnt have celery seed so i didnt add it but i did add carrotts and it was DELICIOUS!!! thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States