Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Really good, we also added carrots to the soup and dill to the dumplings, much needed changes. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kirkby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the first time I've made chicken and dumplings, and it turned out awesome. I always thought dumplings were slimey, these were the best dumplings ever. I'm making these for my mother-in-law when she comes into town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My boyfriend really loved it, I didn't. I wasn't a fan of the dumplings or the broth. Even with additional broth, herbs, onion, and celery, the broth just tasted like canned soup to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was fantastic. I gave it 4 stars because I took advice from other cooks and dbled the wet ingredients. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because I absolutely loved it. My husband on the other hand, did not. He's from Boston, so maybe he just can't appreciate good southern comfort food. I love that you can really put anything you like in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yum! This was delicious and pretty easy to make. I did not use the celery seed. I did add carrots and a few of my own seasonings: parsley and nature seasoning. The parsley in the dumplings, as suggested by another user, was a great addition. The dumplings were light and fluffy, very scrumptious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. I used cream of mushroom because I had it, added thyme, carrots, peas and 2 cloves of garlic. It was a little salty so I added water. The dumplings are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy! We had cooked a whole chicken in the oven earlier in the day, so used the breasts and one thigh. Only had a couple of shallots and some celery, and added garlic too. Sauteed the veggies, added the cooked chicken to heat through, and then dumped in the broth, soup and milk. We also used Bisquick for the dumplings. Cooked with the lid on for about 15 min. Removed lid and cooked a few minutes longer. Thickened with a flour/milk mixture. Husband and picky son gave it two thumbs up! Nice easy delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I had never made chicken and dumplings before. They came out delicious. The dumplings were just delicious! Next time I will double the cream of chicken, stock and milk. I let mine simmer too much it came out kinda dry. Other than that, it was a very good recipe. will keep making it. Kids and hubby liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was the basis of an amazing Chicken and Dumplings recipe for my family! We followed the advice of several other reviewers and added a few changes of our own...we also used 1 can each of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup. Instead of chicken broth, I used one packet of Knorr's Chicken Stock Concentrate and reconstituted it with 3 1/2 c. of boiling water. I also doubled the milk. We added fresh chopped basil, 3 cloves minced fresh garlic, 4 peeled, sliced carrots, increased the onion to 1/2 c. and omitted the celery. As other reviewers suggested, we cooked the chicken and vegs in a dutch oven and did the soup mixture in a different pan, adding it to the dutch oven when the chicken was ready. The two other changes we made were to add frozen peas just prior to the dumplings and we used the recipe on the Bisquick box for the dumplings. This made things a lot easier. Prior to adding to the peas, we did add 1 tbsp of cornstarch with 3 tbsp of cold water to thicken the soup. With our modifications, this was a rich, satisfying meal for a cold (as in 20 degrees below zero) winter night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States