Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Yea! I made Chicken n' Dumplings! For what ever reason, I've never gotten around to making the age-old favorite. This was a simple recipe to make which made my first attempt a success! Hubby & 2 teenage sons were happy....so, I'm happy. Of course, I doubled the recipe so we have some leftovers. Also, I added some mixed veggies. It was delicious, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent! My family loved it. The only change I made was adding a bay leaf while simmering the broth. The dumplings were wonderful, and I didn't peek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe was okay. But after cooking it, I wish it had had more vegetables in it. Next time I make it, I'm going to add carrots and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Love this recipe. I did add a few more herbs but thats just my taste preference not the recipe. But the dumplings had the perfect taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
OMG--this dish is INSANELY easy to make and INSANELY good! I've never made dumplings before--but following the recipe made it very easy and they turned out great. I would only recommend adding a dash of parsley! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
So good! I made my own stew by stewing chicken thighs with herbs & spices in water, adding store bought stock and some heavy cream at the end. Followed the recipe for the dumplings exactly, but doubled it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhyclak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
YUM!! For the number of servings I needed to make the recipe required two cans of cream of chicken soup. I only had one on hand so I used cream of mushroom soup as the other can of soup. It was delish!!!! My picky eater kids even ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginparo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Really good! I only changed a few things, like adding some carrots, and using 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup cream to make it creamier. I also put some dried parsley in the dough mixture. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved it! My boyfriend says its a definite keeper. I did a few things differently. I used some chicken breast I had already roasted. Also added some poultry seaoning for flavor and some corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Riegel, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordst2
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Fantastic recipe! As other reviewers have done I did tweak the base to my taste, but the dumplings were absolutely perfection just as written. In the end, the dumplings are what make, or break, this recipe. I made a double recipe to feed 8 so I used a Dutch oven. Also, I seared the chicken and veggies first in the Dutch oven so none of the flavor was lost, removed them, made the soup, and added the veggies and chicken back at the point the recipe says to do it. I added sliced mushrooms to the onion and celery mix. I also added thawed frozen peas just before dropping the dumplings in. With a single recipe a large sauce pan would be fine, but doubling the recipe I was glad to have the surface area of the Dutch oven for the dumplings. Finally, after reading reviews I went low sodium with every ingredient and the result was not too salty at all…. On a comfort food scale of 1-10 this was an 11+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States