Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've never made chicken and dumplings before, so I was a little nervous about the dumpling part. There wasn't a lot of liquid, so I added a can of cream of mushroom and a can of milk to counter the extreme thickness. I also added some bay leaves for a little extra flavor during simmer time. As for the dumplings, they turned out great. I made sure my mixture was wet and sticky as per another review. My only problem was that a few of the smaller drops got a little gooey. But the bigger full spoonfuls became nice and fluffy. Definitely going to cook this again. My 1 year old gobbled it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I followed the earlier recommendations and added the veggies and doubled the broth and creamed soup. I also added in about 1/4 cup sherry before adding the dumplings. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Really good, we also added carrots to the soup and dill to the dumplings, much needed changes. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kirkby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the first time I've made chicken and dumplings, and it turned out awesome. I always thought dumplings were slimey, these were the best dumplings ever. I'm making these for my mother-in-law when she comes into town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My boyfriend really loved it, I didn't. I wasn't a fan of the dumplings or the broth. Even with additional broth, herbs, onion, and celery, the broth just tasted like canned soup to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was fantastic. I gave it 4 stars because I took advice from other cooks and dbled the wet ingredients. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because I absolutely loved it. My husband on the other hand, did not. He's from Boston, so maybe he just can't appreciate good southern comfort food. I love that you can really put anything you like in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yum! This was delicious and pretty easy to make. I did not use the celery seed. I did add carrots and a few of my own seasonings: parsley and nature seasoning. The parsley in the dumplings, as suggested by another user, was a great addition. The dumplings were light and fluffy, very scrumptious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. I used cream of mushroom because I had it, added thyme, carrots, peas and 2 cloves of garlic. It was a little salty so I added water. The dumplings are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy! We had cooked a whole chicken in the oven earlier in the day, so used the breasts and one thigh. Only had a couple of shallots and some celery, and added garlic too. Sauteed the veggies, added the cooked chicken to heat through, and then dumped in the broth, soup and milk. We also used Bisquick for the dumplings. Cooked with the lid on for about 15 min. Removed lid and cooked a few minutes longer. Thickened with a flour/milk mixture. Husband and picky son gave it two thumbs up! Nice easy delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States