Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. I used cream of mushroom because I had it, added thyme, carrots, peas and 2 cloves of garlic. It was a little salty so I added water. The dumplings are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy! We had cooked a whole chicken in the oven earlier in the day, so used the breasts and one thigh. Only had a couple of shallots and some celery, and added garlic too. Sauteed the veggies, added the cooked chicken to heat through, and then dumped in the broth, soup and milk. We also used Bisquick for the dumplings. Cooked with the lid on for about 15 min. Removed lid and cooked a few minutes longer. Thickened with a flour/milk mixture. Husband and picky son gave it two thumbs up! Nice easy delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I had never made chicken and dumplings before. They came out delicious. The dumplings were just delicious! Next time I will double the cream of chicken, stock and milk. I let mine simmer too much it came out kinda dry. Other than that, it was a very good recipe. will keep making it. Kids and hubby liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was the basis of an amazing Chicken and Dumplings recipe for my family! We followed the advice of several other reviewers and added a few changes of our own...we also used 1 can each of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup. Instead of chicken broth, I used one packet of Knorr's Chicken Stock Concentrate and reconstituted it with 3 1/2 c. of boiling water. I also doubled the milk. We added fresh chopped basil, 3 cloves minced fresh garlic, 4 peeled, sliced carrots, increased the onion to 1/2 c. and omitted the celery. As other reviewers suggested, we cooked the chicken and vegs in a dutch oven and did the soup mixture in a different pan, adding it to the dutch oven when the chicken was ready. The two other changes we made were to add frozen peas just prior to the dumplings and we used the recipe on the Bisquick box for the dumplings. This made things a lot easier. Prior to adding to the peas, we did add 1 tbsp of cornstarch with 3 tbsp of cold water to thicken the soup. With our modifications, this was a rich, satisfying meal for a cold (as in 20 degrees below zero) winter night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Super easy recipe, however I found it to be missing a little something, so I tweaked it a little... STEW: I used 4 cans of broth and 3 cream of chicken soup (we like our broth!), I added diced carrots, crimini mushrooms, minced garlic, thyme to the celery and 1 med onion and deglazed the pan with approx 1c of white wine. Next time I will also cut back just a bit on the celery seed. DUMPLINGS: Added garlic powder, parsley, black pepper and grated parmesan and used buttermilk in place of regular milk. The kids even ate this (which, believe me, speaks volumes) so this one will be going into the favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great and quick recipe. I'm used to making my own chicken and dumplings with a whole chicken in the pot, straining the broth, etc, and I just knew the family would make some silly comments about Mama using a can of soup to cook with. Was I wrong! The family loved it! A bit too salty for me, but I know how to make it less salty next time and will not subtract from the 5 star rating. I was pleased to see a recipe for dumplings that used oil instead of solid fat. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I will be making these again. I normally make Bisquick dumplings. This recipe is as good and I dare say better than those. The soup itself has a very rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TyAllan
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great base. Like most folks I added carrots. I also added some chopped kale to up the nutritional value. I might thicken the base a bit like some others noted when I do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Loved it! I added the changes suggested by Ohiomom's review and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mannor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Nice base recipe. I added a full cup of water during the cooking as there wasn't much liquid. I was afraid it would be too watery but it still thickened up nicely after the dumplings finished cooking. Also added chopped carrots and more seasoning as I didn't have celery or celery seed. I was afraid I overmixed my dough (have made dumplings before and wasn't thinking as I mixed everything together really well) and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States