Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good. I did add about 32oz of chicken stock and threw in some carrots. Next time I'll be sure to double this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I adore this recipe. I've made a few changes though. I add an extra can of cream of chicken, doubled up on the milk and add 1 and 1/2 cans of chicken broth. I also add poultry seasoning and 2 bay leaves while cooking chicken, carrots(I added those)celery. I eliminated onions. It just doesn't seem to fit this recipe. I changed nothing with the dumplings. I make this recipe all the time and give it to whoever wants it telling them that I found it here. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Dumplings were great. They are actually a recipe that I have made several times. As far as the Chicken stew, this was very very bland. It made alot and is now just sitting in the fridge. Not sure I even want to eat it again. Maybe I can add a bunch of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
We were not fans of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was amazing! My husband and I both loved it and it was easy to make. I made a few changes. I added an extra can of chicken broth, 2 cloves of garlic, and a carrot, which I cooked w/ the celery and onion. I boiled the chicken breasts in the broth for 15 minutes and then shredded the chicken and added it back into the soup right before I added the dumplings. We prefer the shredded chicken in a soup. I will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I rated this a 4/5 only because I modified it. It's easy and delicious! I had never made chicken and dumpling before this... I added a cup of chopped carrots and extra celery. Omitted the Celery Seed, since I didn't have any. I also seasoned the chicken with a bit a salt and pepper and used the "Cream of Chicken with herbs." I also added some Italian Seasoning to the dumpling mix and a bit of garlic powder. It took me 1.5 hours to prepare and cook. I also served it over garlic mashed potatoes! So yummy, and my fiancé loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great recipe! I added peas and carrots to give it more flavor and color, also added italian seasoning. Cheddar cheese on top is a nice garnish too. Definitely make sure the biscuit batter is sticky wet--they come out moist and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseymwelsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Since my boyfriend has a cold, I decided to make this for us for dinner and no regrets at all. He thought it was very tasty. So do I. As others suggested, I doubled up the sauce mixture and added carrots and peas. Will keep this recipe for a time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe was a hit with my family. I used home-made chicken broth with no salt added, cooked shredded chicken (from making the broth), and I used whole wheat flour for the dumplings. I also used my pressure cooker which sped up the cook time dramatcially. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious! I didn't think I liked chicken and dumplings, but I ate 2 bowls of this! Everything just came out really well - it was easy enough to make, ingredients were things I had on hand. And the dumplings were not too thick or chewy. I did end up having to tweak it quite a bit to suite our family of 6. I originally doubled the broth/soup/milk mixture, but did not double the dumplings. I will double them both next time - the ratio just seemed off. I should've followed the recipe as stated! Also, added about a 1/3 cup finely chopped carrot, and only used about 1/4 cup finely chopped celery. Next time I'll omit the celery seed - my husband thought it was over-powering. But it was sooo good. We all loved it! A keeper, for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States