Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Really good! I only changed a few things, like adding some carrots, and using 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup cream to make it creamier. I also put some dried parsley in the dough mixture. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved it! My boyfriend says its a definite keeper. I did a few things differently. I used some chicken breast I had already roasted. Also added some poultry seaoning for flavor and some corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Riegel, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordst2
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Fantastic recipe! As other reviewers have done I did tweak the base to my taste, but the dumplings were absolutely perfection just as written. In the end, the dumplings are what make, or break, this recipe. I made a double recipe to feed 8 so I used a Dutch oven. Also, I seared the chicken and veggies first in the Dutch oven so none of the flavor was lost, removed them, made the soup, and added the veggies and chicken back at the point the recipe says to do it. I added sliced mushrooms to the onion and celery mix. I also added thawed frozen peas just before dropping the dumplings in. With a single recipe a large sauce pan would be fine, but doubling the recipe I was glad to have the surface area of the Dutch oven for the dumplings. Finally, after reading reviews I went low sodium with every ingredient and the result was not too salty at all…. On a comfort food scale of 1-10 this was an 11+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe was ok but salty. I used reduced sodium chicken broth and healthy request cream of chicken soup (lower salt). I did not add any other type of salt. The dumplings came out great and the chicken was tender. I used chicken tenders instead of the whole breast because that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A good recipe. Easy to fix. However, I prefer my chicken and dumplings in more of a thickened broth. It just seemed like it tasted a bit too processed. However, the dumplings were fantastic. I had made dumplings only once in my life and it was disastrous...raw and heavy. I took the advise of one reviewer in that when you mix the ingredients for the dumplings, mix until just incorporated and spoon into hot stew. Dough will be very sticky. That was the key to my success! And I might add....I used a large cookie scoop (the spring-loaded kind) that held about a heaping tablespoon. Sprayed the inside and out with Pam spray. It made quick work of dispensing of the dumplings into the stew. Next time I may tweek this recipe a bit for the stew, but the dumplings will be the same. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Felts Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great recipe and very easy. The only thing I did different is i used wheat biscuits out of a can to make it even easier (i can't eat white flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very yummy! I made some changes due to what I had on hand. I went to take out my chicken thighs and they had turned, so I used the meat from a rotisserie chicken. I also used cream of mushroom soup, with about a tbsp of poultry seasoning. Used sour cream instead of milk, and added carrots. Followed recipe for dumplings exactly, except I added some chives, and they came out perfectly! The trick is to BARELY mix them. My daughter, who is home sick from school, is enjoying this as we speak. Thanks for sharing! PS-If my chicken hadn't gone bad, I planned to brown it directly in the soup pot...why lose flavor in a pan? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Added more seasoning to taste added about 1/4 cup of sour cream. Did not use celery or celery seed...used carrots about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Pretty good...I left out the celery and onions and added peas, potatoes and carrots to the broth mixture. Next time, I'd leave out the celery seeds as they were a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great flavor. We added basil, cardamom, and garlic to the dumplings. We had plenty of liquids, making the recipe as written. My only complaint was it didn't make a lot. We'll make it again though. I've made this several times, but tonight I added more dumplings (1 1/2x). I used half whole wheat flour in the biscuits and added carrot to the 'soup.' These changes worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States