Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Good recipe. Very simple. Made it in winter, on a cold, rainy Sunday. It was a perfect meal. The dumplings were perfect & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelson825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I did not enjoy the dumplings at all i will stick with my old recipie...it made the soup thick and the dumplings did stick to the bottom. The dumplings had not a good taste just real plain...will not make again...ever but my hubbie seemed to like it so two stars me and my kids ate grilled cheese instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I gave this recipe three stars; 3 for the soup and NONE for the dumplings. I tried this recipe twice and will deleting it from my box after this. The soup tastes...well, like chicken soup. Nothing spectacular. My family prefers my own recipe. The dumplings disintegrated into the soup and turned the broth into cloudy! It didn't affect the taste much, but I will definately be keeping my own recipe and pitch this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was a tasty dish. I used another can of broth and a cup of water. I wanted more servings out of it. I used my left over roasted chicken from the night before. The dough was perfect and very easy to make. If you are not using the extra water and broth it yields a lot of dough. The only reason I did not give it five stars is the spices. My man had to add spices while eating it, but he loves spicy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffster67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I didn't make the whole recipe exactly as is, but it took very well to substitutions. I had turkey thighs instead of chicken breasts, I started by sauteeing a frozen mire poix mix from my grocery store, I used grapeseed oil in the dumplings and pulled them off heat after 15 minutes, then removed them to a serving platter while I added back in the meat and some frozen peas and let the liquid part simmer for minute. I seasoned it to my own taste with garlic, pepper and onion powder, then poured the meat, veggies and gravy over the dumplings. Perfection! Anyway, this recipe deserves the 5 stars because: 1. Most of the recipes for dumplings on this site resort to "canned" biscuits but this one gives you an excellent and easy dumpling recipe. 2. The method of covering the dumplings right away is correct... most recipes say to leave the lid off for the first 10 minutes but I've always found that produces disintegrated loose dumplings. 3. I think the chicken dumpling broth is greatly improved by thickening and extra "chickeny" flavor, so the cream of chicken soup is a good call. (Though you could also throw in a bullion cube and thicken with a little cornstarch at the end if necessary.) 4. It is a great BASIC recipe that you can modify A LOT and still get a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I didn't use the recipe I had already made my soup..but I did use the dumpling recipe and it was perfect! Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homies_cookin_mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yet another recipe my whole family devoured! My husband really wants me to boil and shred the chicken next time, but said the dumplings and soup where the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is great! I made a few changes. Didn't have cream of chicken soup on hand, so i made my own. Boiled 2 cut up chicken breasts and 1 bay leaf in 3 c. salt water for 30 mins. Then i made a base for the soup in a sauce pan: I added chopped garlic to 3TB melted butter, sauteed 2 mins and added 2 handfuls of flour. Stirred flour/butter mixture for 2 mins and then added the water from the cooked, boiled chicken. Stirred well to get rid of lumps. Ta da! Cream of chicken soup!! Followed the rest of the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe was just ok. The taste was pretty good, but when following the recipe as stated, I ended up with the liquid base almost all dried up and burning onto the bottom. Also after eating it, I felt extremely full for hours afterwards and I only ate half a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I would just like to say that I am so thankful for finding this "homemade" dumplin' recipe. After looking at a few of the higher rated recipes, and finding only 'canned' biscuits as a dumplin staple, I am fabulously satisfied with how this turned out. My dumplins are light, huge, and fluffy, and taste fabulous. Great addition to our "comfort food" menu. Oh, and Bud Light really helps lubricate the cooking muscle. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States