Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Dumplings were great. They are actually a recipe that I have made several times. As far as the Chicken stew, this was very very bland. It made alot and is now just sitting in the fridge. Not sure I even want to eat it again. Maybe I can add a bunch of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
We were not fans of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was amazing! My husband and I both loved it and it was easy to make. I made a few changes. I added an extra can of chicken broth, 2 cloves of garlic, and a carrot, which I cooked w/ the celery and onion. I boiled the chicken breasts in the broth for 15 minutes and then shredded the chicken and added it back into the soup right before I added the dumplings. We prefer the shredded chicken in a soup. I will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I rated this a 4/5 only because I modified it. It's easy and delicious! I had never made chicken and dumpling before this... I added a cup of chopped carrots and extra celery. Omitted the Celery Seed, since I didn't have any. I also seasoned the chicken with a bit a salt and pepper and used the "Cream of Chicken with herbs." I also added some Italian Seasoning to the dumpling mix and a bit of garlic powder. It took me 1.5 hours to prepare and cook. I also served it over garlic mashed potatoes! So yummy, and my fiancé loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great recipe! I added peas and carrots to give it more flavor and color, also added italian seasoning. Cheddar cheese on top is a nice garnish too. Definitely make sure the biscuit batter is sticky wet--they come out moist and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseymwelsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Since my boyfriend has a cold, I decided to make this for us for dinner and no regrets at all. He thought it was very tasty. So do I. As others suggested, I doubled up the sauce mixture and added carrots and peas. Will keep this recipe for a time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe was a hit with my family. I used home-made chicken broth with no salt added, cooked shredded chicken (from making the broth), and I used whole wheat flour for the dumplings. I also used my pressure cooker which sped up the cook time dramatcially. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious! I didn't think I liked chicken and dumplings, but I ate 2 bowls of this! Everything just came out really well - it was easy enough to make, ingredients were things I had on hand. And the dumplings were not too thick or chewy. I did end up having to tweak it quite a bit to suite our family of 6. I originally doubled the broth/soup/milk mixture, but did not double the dumplings. I will double them both next time - the ratio just seemed off. I should've followed the recipe as stated! Also, added about a 1/3 cup finely chopped carrot, and only used about 1/4 cup finely chopped celery. Next time I'll omit the celery seed - my husband thought it was over-powering. But it was sooo good. We all loved it! A keeper, for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Loved this! I used thyme instead of celery seed because that's what I had on hand. I also added a diced carrot and some frozen peas. The tip of dipping the dumpling spoon into the broth to help it slide off worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
would have given 5 starts except that I made some changes. really good recipe. I precooked the chicken, seasoned with celery seed, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. I shredded this and put into the soup/broth mixture with the diced onion and celery. I also added some diced carrots and potatoes. I added some more garlic powder to the pot at this time. Over all a very good recipe, and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States