Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Since my boyfriend has a cold, I decided to make this for us for dinner and no regrets at all. He thought it was very tasty. So do I. As others suggested, I doubled up the sauce mixture and added carrots and peas. Will keep this recipe for a time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe was a hit with my family. I used home-made chicken broth with no salt added, cooked shredded chicken (from making the broth), and I used whole wheat flour for the dumplings. I also used my pressure cooker which sped up the cook time dramatcially. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious! I didn't think I liked chicken and dumplings, but I ate 2 bowls of this! Everything just came out really well - it was easy enough to make, ingredients were things I had on hand. And the dumplings were not too thick or chewy. I did end up having to tweak it quite a bit to suite our family of 6. I originally doubled the broth/soup/milk mixture, but did not double the dumplings. I will double them both next time - the ratio just seemed off. I should've followed the recipe as stated! Also, added about a 1/3 cup finely chopped carrot, and only used about 1/4 cup finely chopped celery. Next time I'll omit the celery seed - my husband thought it was over-powering. But it was sooo good. We all loved it! A keeper, for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Loved this! I used thyme instead of celery seed because that's what I had on hand. I also added a diced carrot and some frozen peas. The tip of dipping the dumpling spoon into the broth to help it slide off worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
would have given 5 starts except that I made some changes. really good recipe. I precooked the chicken, seasoned with celery seed, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. I shredded this and put into the soup/broth mixture with the diced onion and celery. I also added some diced carrots and potatoes. I added some more garlic powder to the pot at this time. Over all a very good recipe, and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added a can of veg-all and only used 1/2 tsp of celery seend. Very easy to make & very delicious. My husband said to put it on the make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loved it! I am a college student, and we take turns cooking for the 3 of us in the apartment. The dumplings came out huge, so next time I will probably halve that. I also doubled the cream of chicken soup and chicken broth. We used 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. The ingredients says chicken breast halves, so I'm not sure if that's what I did or not, but nonetheless, everything came out proportional :) It also took me 1 and a half hours from start to finish, but that may be because I'm not pro :) Thanks, and I'm sure we'll be having it again soon! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was awesome, perfect comfort food! I also added carrots and potatoes, and I doubled the broth. I also replaced the celery seed with dried thyme, which gave it a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Awesome. I'd never had or made chicken and dumplings but I suddenly got the urge and used this recipe. I followed the advice of a few reviewers and used cream of chicken and mushroom, added slicd muschrooms and carrots, and used green onion. The dumplings were great and the liquid at a great consistency. I did add about 1/3 a cup of water before dropping the dumplings because the liquid had reduced quite a bit. Turned out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was very good comfort food for a cold day! My husband just kept saying "MMM". I took the advice of others and doubled the broth and cream of chicken to make it more of a soup, which went a lot further with 5 people (we still had leftovers). I also added carrots, which gave it some color and some more veggies for the kids. I did not use low sodium broth because I didn't have it on hand, and that was unfortunate because it was too salty with the regular broth. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States