Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sonia
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Didn't have cream of celery so I used 2 cream of chicken fresh diced celery and carrots to 2 tablespoons of butter with pepper, salt & McCormick celery seed then after boiling Ckn in separate pot drained it then I added 3C of Swanson Ckn broth then added the simmered vegt. Yumm best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonia
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used 3 12.5 oz cans of chuck chicken breast and 3 cups of chicken stock instead of 6 chicken thighs boiled with 3 cups of remaining water. This recipe was a good start for me but I made it easier for my busy life style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lawrence J.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe, I made some additions, such as noodles which gave it great texture! Thanks for sharing a wonderful simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia181
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was my first time EVER making chicken and dumplings. I used this recipe as the base and used a few suggestions from others. It turned out amazing! The only chicken I had were boneless chicken breast strips, so I boiled 5 of them in a little more than 3 cups of water for about 20 minutes. After I took them out to let them cool, I opened a can of Veg-All and poured it in the water I had just taken the chicken out of. I let that cook for about 10 minutes while I broke the chicken up into pieces then put the chicken back in. Then I added one can of condensed cream of celery soup and one can of condensed cream of chicken soup. I used 4 of the 8 giant butter biscuits I had breaking them into small pieces, flattening them and dropping them in. They cooked for about 5 minutes on medium, then I turned the burner to low and put a lid on the pot letting it simmer for about 30 minutes. Overall, it was really good. Next time I make this, I will use a different kind of biscuit, because my dumplings were pretty thick and could have used a little more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia181

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My first attempt at making chicken & dumplings and it was a home run. My daughter even wanted to take leftovers in her thermos for lunch at school. I didn't have canned biscuit dough so I just made it from scratch and I added some frozen veggies and this is a new family favorite at our house. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Base was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used a rotisserie chicken, added ~2c. of chicken broth (plus some water) to cover the chicken, adding some more broth at the end to ensure the biscuits would cook. I also substituted one of the two cans with cream of chicken, and added some onion, carrots, celery and garlic. I did tear off small pieces of the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was delicious, however, I made some changes. I made my own cream of chicken, used 3 c homemade chicken broth and used leftover baked chicken (rather than boiling the chicken). I added about 1/2 c finely chopped celery, 1 c chopped carrots and 1 c peas. My dumplings turned out a little too mushy so next time around I'm going to make homemade dumplings and boil them in salted water prior to adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This quick, easy, inexpensive recipe has become a family favorite. I add chopped celery (and sometimes peas and carrots) to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States