Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a last minute thing for me my son came home sick and wanted chicken and dumplings so we raided the pantry to see if we could make this. I didn't have everything but with some adjustments we worked it out. I made some adjustments after reading the other reviews. I put 1C carrots thick sliced and 1C celery thick chopped and 1 onion chopped and sauteed them in butter and added them to the soup. I didn't have 2 cream of celery soups so I used 1 cream of chicken and 1 cream of celery and 1 chicken stock. I also used 2 12.5 oz cans of chunk chicken instead of the thighs. Turned out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe the way it is. NOTHING needs to be done. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good, my boys loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a great base recipe. The recipe seemed like it would turn out fairly bland, so I changed it a little bit. When I boiled the chicken, I added a few peppercorns, a smashed garlic clove, and one boullon cube. I cooked an onion, celery, and carrots in a little bit of oil before I added the soup to the skillet. I would really recommend rolling out the biscuits and cutting them into smaller pieces before adding them to the skillet because they puff up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Quick. Easy. Really salty though. Definitely consider sodium free condensed soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was a little skeptical when I came across this "simple" recipe while searching for something to do with the chicken thighs sitting in the fridge. I decided to try it even though we had never had chicken and dumplings before. My kids loved it! All four asked for seconds and some thirds. We ran out. The only changes I made was adding some sauteed onion and celery, boiling in chicken stock and using one can of cream on chicken and one of cream of celery. We will definitely be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very yummy for a basic Chicken & Dumplings recipe. My hubby doesn't love veggies, so he was happy to see those left out. I, however, missed them. Will probably add a bag of mixed veggies next time. Or at least some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I use a can of cream of celery, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I boil the chicken thighs in chicken broth and I also add a bag of mixed veggies. I typically buy two packages of biscuit dough. I add one the first time making it and the second for leftovers. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColorfulCasey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe is easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States