Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by DanaLane
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent! Like others I added carrots, celery, some garlic (while the chicken was boiling), and used cream of chicken soup instead of the cream of celery, but prepared the rest the same. Second time and my Southern grown husband loves it. Thanks, Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I loved this, I diced 1/2 a medium sized white onion and 2 garlic cloves, cooked in oil until transparent then added sliced carrots, the chicken breasts (all I had-3 of them) and water to simmer for 15 minutes. I used the cream of celery just like it called for and could have made the dumplings bigger, I'd split each into about 6 pieces, but I think quarters would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
WONDERFUL! I have gone through several chicken and dumplings recipes in search of the best one and this is it! I made the following changes: added 2 cans of chicken broth when boiling chicken, used 8 chicken thighs, and used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery. My husband (whose favorite meal is chicken and dumplings) LOVED this. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! I have been making it once a week since I found it 3 weeks ago and even my 3 year old daughter loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a last minute thing for me my son came home sick and wanted chicken and dumplings so we raided the pantry to see if we could make this. I didn't have everything but with some adjustments we worked it out. I made some adjustments after reading the other reviews. I put 1C carrots thick sliced and 1C celery thick chopped and 1 onion chopped and sauteed them in butter and added them to the soup. I didn't have 2 cream of celery soups so I used 1 cream of chicken and 1 cream of celery and 1 chicken stock. I also used 2 12.5 oz cans of chunk chicken instead of the thighs. Turned out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe the way it is. NOTHING needs to be done. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good, my boys loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a great base recipe. The recipe seemed like it would turn out fairly bland, so I changed it a little bit. When I boiled the chicken, I added a few peppercorns, a smashed garlic clove, and one boullon cube. I cooked an onion, celery, and carrots in a little bit of oil before I added the soup to the skillet. I would really recommend rolling out the biscuits and cutting them into smaller pieces before adding them to the skillet because they puff up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Quick. Easy. Really salty though. Definitely consider sodium free condensed soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was a little skeptical when I came across this "simple" recipe while searching for something to do with the chicken thighs sitting in the fridge. I decided to try it even though we had never had chicken and dumplings before. My kids loved it! All four asked for seconds and some thirds. We ran out. The only changes I made was adding some sauteed onion and celery, boiling in chicken stock and using one can of cream on chicken and one of cream of celery. We will definitely be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States