Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I hate to be one of those people who rate a recipe and in actuality did not stick to the recipe- sorry. I ALWAYS read the reviews, and so based on those, used chicken breast boiled in chicken broth, along with some minced onion. As I doubled the recipe, I used three can of soup- two cream of chicken, one cream of celery, and one can of chicken gravy. I also added a small package of frozen mixed vegetables, and a can ( drained) of potatoes- which I chopped. It was fast and easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkycraig
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I used 2 cans of cream and chicken soup instead of celery soup. I also use butter biscuits instead of regular biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Great. Added some peas, a pinch of cayenne and black pepper, plus a shake of italian seasoning. Oh, and a pat of butter and about a tablespoon of cream cheese to make the broth more creamy and rich. This is comfort food at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
A favorite with the kids, and easy to make. Definitely add peas for yum factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Thanks for a great recipe Melissa! I sautéed onion in a garlic olive oil and added it to the 1.5 lbs of chicken breast boiling in 2 cups water, 2 cans broth then added the soups. I seasoned with cracked pepper and a tsp of terragon. I didn't have biscuits so looked up a dumpling recipe on this site. Simmered the dumplings in the soup for 20 minutes. This was a great dinner for a cold evening! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My husband and I really loved this! I made a number of revisions; I used a pound of chicken breast (could have used more) because there were no chicken thighs at my grocery store when I went, I used one can of cream of celery, one can of cream of chicken, and added 6oz of frozen veggies to the pot before I added the biscuit dough. I used the Pillsberry homestyle refrigerated biscuits and it turned out great! Next time I will keep more water in the pot after the chicken has cooked so the sauce will be less thick. Great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
turned out very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My hubby wanted something stick to your ribs and this was a great basic recipe; I did use bouillon cubes in the water and threw in a bag of mixed vegetables to the soup mix. It turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Hands down easiest chicken and dumplings recipe I've ever done. It's also very tasty! It is now my husbands favorite dish I make. He asks for it multiple times through out the cold and even summer months. It is also a quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Wow, it's been a loooong time since I've found a 5-star recipe. Usually, the first time I make a recipe, I make it exactly as written but this time I immediately identified ways to make the dish even more convenient to prepare - here are my changes: Brown 750g chicken (I used thighs) in large saucepan for a few minutes, add carrots, celery, and onion for a few more. Remove some of the fat if necessary, then add soup, broth, and milk, 1/2 tsp celery seed and pepper. Simmer for 35 min. Add dumpling batter and simmer for 12 more. This is definitely a 5-star one-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States