Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is total comfort food. My family liked it a lot. This reminded me of my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I felt this soup needed a lot more seasonings because without them, it was quite bland. Instead of thickening with the flour and water mixture, I mashed half of the potatoes. Cleaned out my fridge and threw in every leftover vegie I could find from this past weekend including chicken gravy. With these additions, it turned out quite delicious. Thanks for a good start tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Definitely not a recipe for the Novice cook. Forget the 40 min cooking time. The carrots never got done and I cooked it for 1 hr and 40 minutes! I was so dissappointed as this was my first time making chicken and dumplings. I had way too much water stalk, and it was a huge pain to get the gravy to thicken up. If you are making a flour paste for gravy, you don't need 2 parts water to 1 part flour, that defeats the purpose. Just use enough water to make it a runny paste. Next time I'll try a cream of soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. My family (even my 15 month old!!) really liked it. I made a few small modifications: used chicken breasts cut into bite-sized peices, only used 2 potatoes, threw in a few handfuls of frozen peas and a diced onion, subbed stock for water, and I threw in a pinch of poultry seasoning. I also added a little marjoram to the Bisquick before cooking the dumplings. It was really really good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Good taste. Needed a more flavor, will make again with some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Not bad, but needed more "salt" and like others next time I make this I would add "chicken boullion" instead of water for more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I highly Recommend this recipie!!! I cooked it tonight for my family, and I added onions, chicken broth, and chicken gravy mix! I also used refrigerated biscuits. My family thinks that it turned out great!!! Reading the reviews and taking the suggestions helped me alot!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My family enjoyed the meal. I did add A some more boullion to the dish to give it more flavor. I will make this again. It was fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My daughter was able to make this herself and she is only 12. Like another review said, the whole house smelled delicious! I had never heard of adding potatoes but they hit the spot! My daughter added a few more spices and chicken broth the second time she made it and it was still so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Very bland. I added probably close to a dozen bullion cubes and a canned of condensed cream of mushroom soup to get any sort of flavor, and then sprinkled parmasan cheese on top of each serving. It was still a very loose soup, not gravy like at all, not even after adding a can of condensed cream soup. Two thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States