Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Great southern-style recipe, but no need for potatoes and refrigerated canned biscuits work great for dumplings. Adding the flour at the end to make the gravy is the key to this being a GREAT chicken and dumplings recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. My family (even my 15 month old!!) really liked it. I made a few small modifications: used chicken breasts cut into bite-sized peices, only used 2 potatoes, threw in a few handfuls of frozen peas and a diced onion, subbed stock for water, and I threw in a pinch of poultry seasoning. I also added a little marjoram to the Bisquick before cooking the dumplings. It was really really good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
An O.K. recipe. Takes lots of time, needs much more salt than the recipe indicates, and it makes a huge amount - more like 15 servings, definitely NOT 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is a delicious recipe . . . and we enjoyed every bit of it! I used chicken broth instead of water to cook the chicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this quicker by useing two cans cr. of chicken soup, 2 cans chicken broth, 1 can vegall, 1 can whole potatos quartered. Parboil 2 chicken breasts while broth is cooking, chop into pieces and drop into boiling broth, add canned veggies keep at low boil, make bisquick biscuits and spoon drop on top, cover for 8 min. flip biscuits and cover for another 3-4 min. served with a salad, this was a quick, delicious and hearty meal. served 6 with a little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I didn't really care much for this dish. I cut the potatoes down to three, and wished I had only used one. Toooo much potato/starch. Mine actually ended up a little dryer than I like them, after adding the dumplings with all the potatoes already in there... I say put this in the scratch file. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Good recipe. Adding the dumplings makes its own gravy. There is no need to add the flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
this is the best one i've tried and has a smooth consistancy and delightful flavor,just like mine. Serve with hard rolls or french bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwwilary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Took some last minute tweaking to get any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I do suggest adding a can of mixed veggies and a small amount of seasoning, but other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States