Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
Great recipe! It looked so easy I was tempted to try it. I must admit I made a few changes. I cooked my vegis and chicken (I used bone-in chicken breasts) in the crockpot when almost done I moved them into a pot and added the dumplings. I didn't use the flour for thickening either. Tasted great. Thanks for making such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
This was the BEST!!!! I have been looking for a good dumpling soup since Moses was a child, and I found it. Thank you!!!! We did not add the flour to the soup and it turned out fine. We also found that using chicken breast instead of the whole Chicken was alot easier!!! Again Thank You!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I didn't really care much for this dish. I cut the potatoes down to three, and wished I had only used one. Toooo much potato/starch. Mine actually ended up a little dryer than I like them, after adding the dumplings with all the potatoes already in there... I say put this in the scratch file. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Added onion. Exellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is a delicious recipe . . . and we enjoyed every bit of it! I used chicken broth instead of water to cook the chicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
An O.K. recipe. Takes lots of time, needs much more salt than the recipe indicates, and it makes a huge amount - more like 15 servings, definitely NOT 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Great southern-style recipe, but no need for potatoes and refrigerated canned biscuits work great for dumplings. Adding the flour at the end to make the gravy is the key to this being a GREAT chicken and dumplings recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This recipe was fantastic! I had never made chicken & dumplings before but this recipe was very easy to follow. I had enough to feed myself, my husband, my parents, and my grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
WONDERFUL! A friend who stopped by commented that it made the whole house smell delicious, and all three children (plus fussy hubby) devoured it and wanted more! I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken since that's what I had, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Very bland. I added probably close to a dozen bullion cubes and a canned of condensed cream of mushroom soup to get any sort of flavor, and then sprinkled parmasan cheese on top of each serving. It was still a very loose soup, not gravy like at all, not even after adding a can of condensed cream soup. Two thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States