Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is total comfort food. My family liked it a lot. This reminded me of my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I felt this soup needed a lot more seasonings because without them, it was quite bland. Instead of thickening with the flour and water mixture, I mashed half of the potatoes. Cleaned out my fridge and threw in every leftover vegie I could find from this past weekend including chicken gravy. With these additions, it turned out quite delicious. Thanks for a good start tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Definitely not a recipe for the Novice cook. Forget the 40 min cooking time. The carrots never got done and I cooked it for 1 hr and 40 minutes! I was so dissappointed as this was my first time making chicken and dumplings. I had way too much water stalk, and it was a huge pain to get the gravy to thicken up. If you are making a flour paste for gravy, you don't need 2 parts water to 1 part flour, that defeats the purpose. Just use enough water to make it a runny paste. Next time I'll try a cream of soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. My family (even my 15 month old!!) really liked it. I made a few small modifications: used chicken breasts cut into bite-sized peices, only used 2 potatoes, threw in a few handfuls of frozen peas and a diced onion, subbed stock for water, and I threw in a pinch of poultry seasoning. I also added a little marjoram to the Bisquick before cooking the dumplings. It was really really good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Good taste. Needed a more flavor, will make again with some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Not bad, but needed more "salt" and like others next time I make this I would add "chicken boullion" instead of water for more flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I highly Recommend this recipie!!! I cooked it tonight for my family, and I added onions, chicken broth, and chicken gravy mix! I also used refrigerated biscuits. My family thinks that it turned out great!!! Reading the reviews and taking the suggestions helped me alot!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My family enjoyed the meal. I did add A some more boullion to the dish to give it more flavor. I will make this again. It was fast and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My daughter was able to make this herself and she is only 12. Like another review said, the whole house smelled delicious! I had never heard of adding potatoes but they hit the spot! My daughter added a few more spices and chicken broth the second time she made it and it was still so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Very bland. I added probably close to a dozen bullion cubes and a canned of condensed cream of mushroom soup to get any sort of flavor, and then sprinkled parmasan cheese on top of each serving. It was still a very loose soup, not gravy like at all, not even after adding a can of condensed cream soup. Two thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States