Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made the dumplings as stated and froze them. Haven't used them yet. I used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup white flour. I made my chicken broth with a bouillon cube. There was to much liquid and not enough flour. Very wet and sticky. Kept adding spoonfuls of flour to get the consistency I needed. Stuck fast to rolling pin even though I floured it. If I try this again I will adjust the flour and broth ratio. I guess I will have to use chicken broth from a box if I was to try reducing the amount. If I have the patience I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
mmm mmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Tasted good, but adding saffron, parsley, and McCormick poultry seasoning to the broth makes it taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahlastein0418
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe pretty much exactly as it was written. The only difference was I didn't have chicken bullion cubes so I added cream of chicken soup. Everything came out perfectly! This was my first attempt at real dumplings and they were YUMMY! Next time I will probably add a little veggies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlastein0418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
One cup of broth was too much for the 2 cups of flour. It was impossible to handle or roll out. I had to recheck the recipe just to make sure I read it right. I really wanted this to work. I kept adding flour but finally gave up and just scooped small amounts of the dough in the pot of boiling broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
While it takes hours to prepare, the preparations are easy. The dumplings had exactly the consistency and flavor that I had expected. I returned the chicken to the broth before dropping in the dumplings. I also added some onion, carrot, salt, and ground black pepper to the boiling chicken. Without these additions I suspect it may have been a bit bland. The remarkable thing about this recipe is that it easily feeds eight to ten people for less than five dollars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daron Rainer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love this recipe, it is just like my grandmother used to make.It makes a large pot , but then I double the recipe. My family loves it. I add carrots, pototoes, celery and some garlic and my family just loves it. We are lucky to have any leftovers, lol. This is my go to recipe for family and company...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fannettsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My family loved this recipe I made a couple changes I added half chicken bouillon cube to the water that i boiled the chicken in and for flour I used Pioneer brand baking mix and added the broth and egg to it then i added more water into the pan with the chicken broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup then I brought that to a boil then added the dumplings to boil turned out super yummy Thanks a bunch for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Since I never measure my water when boing my chicken it was a little thin. I just added a can of cream of chicken soup and black pepper...my family was pleased with supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was so good!! I have never been able to make dumplings that were really good until yesterday when I made this. I changed it a little I used sliced chicken breast instead of the whole chicken and about 3 cups of water I filled my crock pot a little bit over half way. My guys loved it. I use self rising flour instead and the egg it really made a huge difference. My guys loved this we will have again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States