Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
What a simple recipe for a cold night. My grandmother would make this favorite dish every Thursday for us but we called it "CHICKEN & SLIDE JACKS". She would add in onion when cooking the chicken and when cutting dough, she would stretch each piece then drop into broth to cook. All in all, this dish is a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I would just like to say how great my family and friends Loved this recipe. So simply to make. thank you Lillian and AllRecipes Sincerely sally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
very easy recipies family loved it. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Very easy to make. Good taste but a little bland. Very good recipe for those who do not like to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
It tasted so good, and even my pickiest of kids ate and asked for more! (That's a serious compliment!) Thank you! Although I did end up spooning the dumplings in, it still tasted wonderful, just like mom, and granny used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Just needed to tweak the water in which the chicken is cooked. Add onion,celery,carrots,garlic and anything else you would use to make a good broth.Drain before making the dumplings. Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Again, I have to rave about another wonderful southern dish. I grew up on this stuff and have always had an appreciation for chicken and dumplings. Instead of making dumplings from scratch, try tearing biscuits into peices and using that instead...much quicker and tastes wonderful. Good Job Lillian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
The dumplings are quick and easy to make as well as tasty! I made them to go in my own chicken soup recipe and the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I used chicken tenderloin instead of a whole chicken and cooked it in broth instead of salted water. I also added thickener, celery, carrots and some pepper to the broth and a little more flour to the dumplings so I could roll them out. It was a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This is a great recipe, I have used is several times. It does make a lot, (I am usually only feeding 2 people) but it freezes really well. I make a double batch divide it in fourths and freeze 3 of them for later use. It is best to let it thaw for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States