Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
loved it! make sure the broth is WARM, and not HOT though. i made the mistake of using hot, then it was really hot when i went to work it with my hands. these do best rolled really thin, too. work them too much & leave them too thick and they're tough. but this will definitely be the recipe i use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
In order to make this recipe work I had to make so many changes. The recipe as is, is not correct. I added onion and celery and spices to the chicken as it cooked. I cut up the chicken and did not put the skin of the breast or back in so I could minimize the fat in the broth. The dough as stated in the recipe could not be rolled out. I probably added an additional 2 cups of flour or so until the dough could be rolled correctly. It could have used some salt. In order to make these dumplings you really need to know a bit about dough and how much flour to add etc. Was I able to make a dish the family enjoyed? Sure, but I had to make so many changes that this recipe as it is stated is not a good recipe. The proportions of flour/chicken broth/egg for the dumplings is incorrect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My first attempt at Chicken & Dumplin's and my family has dubbed me the "maker of" this meal. I doubled the dumplin's and added some bouillion. I feel that if you add veggies the meal becomes Chicken Stew. I will, however, try this using my mother's old recipe for biscuits and simply roll out the dough and turn it into dumplin's. We all LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Instead of a whole chicken (we don't like dark meat) I use 2 bone-in chicken breasts. I also add 4 chicken bouillon cubes while the chicken cooks. Itop the finished product off with a can of cream of chicken soup before serving. It makes the dumplings SOOOOO creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are not dumplings. more like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I have never made this before, but this made it simple. I did need add some more spices(bay leaf, garlic and a little fresh milled pepper) and carrots and peas, but a wonderful easy recipe. Thanks! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
One of my favorite recipes. The dumplings done in this way (as opposed to "dropped" are wonderful. A satisfying and comforting dish! (you can add some fresh or frozen veg, if you like...I've tried with peas, carrots and mixed veg.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was so close the recipe that I was looking for. I added 2 tbsp of Adobo seasoning and 1 tsp of basil to give it some flavor. I'll admit the recipe did not go as expected. The dough was way to sticky to cut it or roll it out, but I added 1/4 cup of extra flour and dropped the dough into the soup by spoonfulls. I only used the recipe for the dumplings, but added them to chicken & rice soup that I made. My husband and 3 year old absolutely loved it! I have tried many dumpling recipes that were more of a explosive dough covering than individual dumplings, so I was glad that these stayed in separate bite sized pieces. As my 3 year old stated...they were the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipie was kind of plain. I changed it around a little, used spices in the dumplings, and made a quick white sauce to go over it. It was good, but not worth five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I really wanted this to be good, but I didn't care for it; sorry. Same problem as others -- dough was way too sticky to work with, had to add more flour which resulted in hard dumplings which tasted like the recipes calls for -- flour and egg. Broth and chicken came out okay, but I added chicken boullion, bay leaf, oregano, carrots, and onions. Definitely won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States