Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Instead of a whole chicken (we don't like dark meat) I use 2 bone-in chicken breasts. I also add 4 chicken bouillon cubes while the chicken cooks. Itop the finished product off with a can of cream of chicken soup before serving. It makes the dumplings SOOOOO creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are not dumplings. more like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I have never made this before, but this made it simple. I did need add some more spices(bay leaf, garlic and a little fresh milled pepper) and carrots and peas, but a wonderful easy recipe. Thanks! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
One of my favorite recipes. The dumplings done in this way (as opposed to "dropped" are wonderful. A satisfying and comforting dish! (you can add some fresh or frozen veg, if you like...I've tried with peas, carrots and mixed veg.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was so close the recipe that I was looking for. I added 2 tbsp of Adobo seasoning and 1 tsp of basil to give it some flavor. I'll admit the recipe did not go as expected. The dough was way to sticky to cut it or roll it out, but I added 1/4 cup of extra flour and dropped the dough into the soup by spoonfulls. I only used the recipe for the dumplings, but added them to chicken & rice soup that I made. My husband and 3 year old absolutely loved it! I have tried many dumpling recipes that were more of a explosive dough covering than individual dumplings, so I was glad that these stayed in separate bite sized pieces. As my 3 year old stated...they were the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipie was kind of plain. I changed it around a little, used spices in the dumplings, and made a quick white sauce to go over it. It was good, but not worth five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I really wanted this to be good, but I didn't care for it; sorry. Same problem as others -- dough was way too sticky to work with, had to add more flour which resulted in hard dumplings which tasted like the recipes calls for -- flour and egg. Broth and chicken came out okay, but I added chicken boullion, bay leaf, oregano, carrots, and onions. Definitely won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Excellent dish. Everyone loved it to the point that the leftovers in the frig were gone the next day. I added celery and onions to the stock and then strained them out after the chicken was cooked. Also used 1 egg plus 1 egg yoke. I had to then add more flour to form a dough. Kneeded the dough until until silky and let it rest for 10 mins before rolling out the dumplings. After all that it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The dumplings are like lead bricks. Don't waste your time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is soooo goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States