Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Excellent! Some people have said that the dumplings are too hard - if you roll them out thin and cut them about 1" in length, you won't have a problem with that. This recipe is just good old fashioned chicken-n-dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, USA
Living In: West Helena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I agree with the person that said their daughter has a hard time with the dumplings. They are much to hard and dense, and that is the most important part of this meal, so I did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My mother used to make chicken & dumplings and I always remember her making a "well" in the flour and mixing in the broth. I never thought I would find a recipe that was like hers. I made this exactly as directed. The dumplings were just like mom used to make. Fabulous!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Henson-Mizikar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mammoth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good soup but I can't give it 5 stars since I had to add a lot of seasonings to make it good soup! Bay leaf, peppercorns, carrots, onion and celery to make the broth. These dumplings are egg noodle dumplings, not biscuit dumplings which taste very different but I love them both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I added onions and celery and garlic and pepper to the water when cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe very easy and tasted great. The dumplings were especially good. I followed the recipe in all aspects. Other reviewers had problems with the amount of water added to the dumpling portion but I had no issues there. The only elements that I changed were that I used boneless chicken breast in place of a whole chicken and I added a wee bit of milk for a thicker, creamier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe that I have used for years. I'm not quite understanding why people insist on trying to make a rolled dumpling recipe into a drop dumpling recipe and then give low ratings because it did not work out! I love the idea to use the hot broth to make the dumplings; I have always used hot water... great idea! I do cut in about 1/4 cup of shortning before I add the hot liquid, kinda like making biscuits.I personally use self rising flour instead of all purpose so I don't need the baking powder.... I think this is a personal preference. One thing, I always add a little yellow food color to my broth before I add dumplings because sight is for some reason apealing. People expect chicken to be yellow and adding the color really makes a difference. Sometimes I add extra seasoning, sometimes I do not.... it all depends on my mood for the day. All in all, old fashioned dumplings were made to feed large families on limited resources and to this day they are still good! To this day, I am the only one in this family who makes rolled dumplings and every family get-together my husband volunteers my services! This is a good thing..... for him, he doesn't cook. Thanks for a simple recipe that has been around for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Great Recipe! As with all recipes I tried it with smoked whole chicken and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Well, I had high hopes for this recipe based on the number of favorable reviews but unfortunately it was pretty bad from the beginning. The flour/hot broth mixture formed a tough ball that the egg was never able to fully penetrate. I did as other contributors did and made a true dumpling as opposed to the noodle described in the directions, so in all fairness that may have altered the outcome. But the dumpling was very tough and dense. My daughter actually spilled hers trying to cut the dumpling (we had to resort to using steak knives!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a great and super easy recipe. It was no trouble to throw together, but seemed like it took hours. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States