Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very good and easy recipe. Really good on a cold winter night. My husband and son loved it - so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The dumpling part is really good. I made this twice, first time exactly as specified in the recipe, second time with 2 eggs instead of one. I think adding an extra egg made it better. My children LOVED the dumplings! (That's why I had to make second batch of them for the same soup - they were so good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Soooo yummy! We're from North Carolina and just recently moved to Washington State. We miss home a lot and missed this dish. I was impressed. It was simple and yet so delicious! I remember watching my grandmother make chicken and pasty and how she would slave over the stove all day. Simple works sometimes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Finally- a dumpling recipe that closely follows my mom's! I knew what ingredients to use; just not how much, since she never measured hers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OmaCindy
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Wonderful! I made the dumplings to go in my own soup recipe. There was maybe 1/4 of a cup of flour left in the bag..I just threw it in. I did use self rising as I live in The Netherlands and baking soda is hard to find. I found the dumplings very delicious and not at all hard. They also did not tast like flour. After reading that some people found the dough too sticky, I simply made sure that my surface for kneading the dough and rolling it out was very well floured. It worked well. My dutch husband preferred them over the doughy dumplings that I usually make and he loved those. Dumplings in my house will be these from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OmaCindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Excellent! Some people have said that the dumplings are too hard - if you roll them out thin and cut them about 1" in length, you won't have a problem with that. This recipe is just good old fashioned chicken-n-dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, USA
Living In: West Helena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I agree with the person that said their daughter has a hard time with the dumplings. They are much to hard and dense, and that is the most important part of this meal, so I did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My mother used to make chicken & dumplings and I always remember her making a "well" in the flour and mixing in the broth. I never thought I would find a recipe that was like hers. I made this exactly as directed. The dumplings were just like mom used to make. Fabulous!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mammoth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good soup but I can't give it 5 stars since I had to add a lot of seasonings to make it good soup! Bay leaf, peppercorns, carrots, onion and celery to make the broth. These dumplings are egg noodle dumplings, not biscuit dumplings which taste very different but I love them both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I added onions and celery and garlic and pepper to the water when cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States