Chicken and Dumplings I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love this recipe, it is just like my grandmother used to make.It makes a large pot , but then I double the recipe. My family loves it. I add carrots, pototoes, celery and some garlic and my family just loves it. We are lucky to have any leftovers, lol. This is my go to recipe for family and company...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fannettsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My family loved this recipe I made a couple changes I added half chicken bouillon cube to the water that i boiled the chicken in and for flour I used Pioneer brand baking mix and added the broth and egg to it then i added more water into the pan with the chicken broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup then I brought that to a boil then added the dumplings to boil turned out super yummy Thanks a bunch for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Since I never measure my water when boing my chicken it was a little thin. I just added a can of cream of chicken soup and black pepper...my family was pleased with supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was so good!! I have never been able to make dumplings that were really good until yesterday when I made this. I changed it a little I used sliced chicken breast instead of the whole chicken and about 3 cups of water I filled my crock pot a little bit over half way. My guys loved it. I use self rising flour instead and the egg it really made a huge difference. My guys loved this we will have again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is easy, quick, and as tasty as your chicken broth. Mmmmm! I do take a shortcut and let me daughters drop it by the teaspoonful into the hot broth to cook instead of rolling it out and cutting it. I know, but it still tastes so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Turned out being just like my Mother's "Chicken and Noodles" when I was finished. Highly suggest adding seasonings to taste, without it the basic recipe is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koderz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This recipe was good. a couple things 1. I used boneless chicken breast. 2. added bouillion, celery and carrots to the broth while the meat cooked. 3. dumpling mix was VERY sticky after I added the egg but I just added some extra flour to soak it up. My five year old loved the "bread" and ate everything. I will make it again. (reminds me of cracker barrell chicken and dumpins') Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Great recipe! Just like my mama's! If you want the shortcut version just use pre-made biscuits; mama uses pillsbury hungry jack biscuits. Pull the biscuits apart cover in flour and drop into boiling chicken broth for 15 to 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I really like the old-fashion taste of it and look, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I feel with garlic the broth would taste better. Right now it's just seasoned with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irene fernandes
Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States