Chicken and Dressing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I almost never make a recipe without tweaking it a bit... I added sauteed onions, bell pepper and garlic and a can of mushrooms to the stuffing and I thoroughly seasoned the chicken with sage, onion powder, salt and pepper. I didn't have cream of chicken, so I used cream of mushroom with the cream of celery. This was very easy to make, even with the additions, and it tasted more "complete" with all the extras in the stuffing and the chicken turned out tender and flavorful. This one's a keeper, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY_ALETHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I found the recipe bland and not very appetizing. I added green chilis, crushed cashews and corn to the dressing and it made it a bit more tasty. I found the cream of celery soup over dominated the taste of the dressing and chicken. If I were to make it again I would remove the celery soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
So easy to make and very yummy. My husband loved it too. It was even better after re-heating a couple days later. I followed some of the suggestions such as using milk and also chicken broth instead of water. I also used some frozen veggies I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was a delicious recipe. Only thing I didn't like was that the dressing was not moist. So next time I will add 1 can of chicken broth to the dressing, butter and sage. I added 2 cups milk to soup mixture and no water. This makes a thicker gravy-type consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Instead of all water, I use 1/2 milk, 1/2 water. Plus, I add a bag of frozen broccoli florets in the same layer as the chicken. I think it's yummy comfort food and family has enjoyed it. It's not gourmet, but it does hit the spot and has your veggies in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
It's okay. Kind of bland I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Really easy to make. When I make it again I will use a little less butter, as it was slightly greasy right after cooking. I would recommend making it a day ahead of time as it was much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I had a similar recipe years ago but it never "turned out." This one definitely did! Enjoyed every bite. Made it the night before, refrigerated overnight, and put it in the oven when I came home from work - PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Fabulous Meal! I will definitely make this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
I submitted this recipe years ago and never thought it got listed.... I was playing around today and found it. Anyway, the actual recip I submitted was supposed to have cornbread stuffing, not herb seasoned. Anyway, I think that is what makes this recipe unique (or did at the time I submitted it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States