Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Quite simple and very filling. I did use red pepper and increased it to a full cup. I also used Cracker Barrel 2% sharp white cheddar. Sauteeing the chicken and vegetables in the bacon really added a good amount of flavor, so adding fresh ground pepper and a little sea salt was really all this soup needed. VERY GOOD and quite comforting. I did serve this with Ranch Oyster Crackers on the side. NOTE: For those of you who shop at Costco, the frozen Foster Farms chicken breasts work great for this. One package of two large breasts is the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
We were in need of some comfort food and this fit the bill! The flavors go really well together. I added chopped celery just because we like it. It would be really good on a cold, rainy night! I'm looking forward to the leftovers for luch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was amazing! I made the recipe as given with the addition of potatoes and it was wonderful comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I felt like this recipe was missing something but my husband thought it was delicious. So all in all I guess it is okay haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great hearty fall soup! I used both the bacon grease and the drippings from the pan to intensify the flavor. The flavor turned out great, but it did nothing for the presentation (made it a bit muddy looking.) I also added sliced carrots to use them up which tasted good, but again, messed with the persentation! (Orange circles just don't look as pretty in this soup.) Note: when changing the yield, always double check the calculated measurements! I doubled this recipe and it called for 64 cups of corn starch, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was delicious ! I made very little adjustments, I did add a small dallop of sourcream w/the bacon for garnish - but the soup made itself. Oh, and since I only had skim milk, I used 3/4 skim and 1/4 half and half (I typically do this if a recipe calls for milk) - other than that, I didn't over think it, family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The whole family really enjoyed this. I think the bell pepper added a lot to the flavor (I'm glad I used yellow bell pepper so the kids wouldn't notice it with all the corn!). I actually followed this recipe exactly. We all agreed that I'll make this frequently in the cold weather months. *** Update: I almost always use pre-cooked chicken, it makes it even faster for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is the best chicken corn chowder I have had. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfect. I used tri-color peppers making the presentation very colorful. It is quick, easy and delicious. My husband keeps asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My family absolutely loves this chowder! I used fresh corn cut straight from the cob, which gives it a nice, crisp crunch. I served this in Italian Bread Bowls also found on this site, which makes for an impressive presentation. My family thinks I am a gourmet cook now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
YUM! I followed the recipe exactly on this except that I added 4 small red potatoes (peeled and cubed) and added a little more garlic. My boyfriend loved it and so did I. We ate it with rolls which went perfect. I am a novice at cooking and found the recipe easy to follow. Leftovers warm up just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States