Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
We really liked the flavor of this, but it was a bit runny. I added cornstarch (mixed into a little of the broth then stirred into the soup) during cooking, and then let it sit a little while after cooking, and that thickened it up a bit. I think adding a can of cream of mushroom soup might also help thicken it up and add some more flavor next time. I used whole milk instead of half and half because that's what I had. I also added about 2 cups of shredded cheddar at the end of cooking and we topped our bowls of soup with a little more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe, I thought it looked fairly easy. I had never made a chowder before. It was not as thick as I would have liked, I suppose thats my fault thought for using fat-free half and half. My other issue was it was kind of bland. I am adding some more salt and pepper to see if I just didn't add enough. I am considering adding shredded cheddar. I only used a little thyme since I was not that familiar with it. I could increase that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I just made this for dinner.My husband and I both loved it.I used roasted chicken breast and one lb.of velveeta cheese.Also added a few drops of hot sauce and only a few sprinkles of dry tyhme.It was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I was looking for a recipe to use up some frozen corn. I had a leftover rotisserie chicken and used that in place of the chicken breasts. Also omitted the green onions as we are having an e.coli issue with them right now in our region. Added some parsley to add some green color in place of the green onions. Used whole milk instead of half and half and thickened at the end with a little cornstarch. I thought this recipe was great, and it helped me use up some stuff out of my regrigerator and freezer! I am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Just terrific. I tweaked a peaked a little to my families tastes but just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This didn't knock my socks off. It was too thin for my liking. I ended up adding so many different ingredients it ended up being another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I found this recipe very easy and very good and a change from regular winter soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
My husband and I hate thyme, so I omitted it. I also used evaporated skim milk in place of the half and half. I only used 3 chicken breasts and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I loved this recipe, but my husband and kids took two bites and wouldn't touch it. DH says he doesn't like thyme. Who knew? I ate the leftovers and thought it was great, but I guess I won't be making it again. It was really thin and runny, but maybe it's supposed to be that way. I still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this is a good recipe for a great chowder. My only suggestion is to add a good dash of sherry (or cooking sherry) at the end. It makes the whole soup taste rich and gives it a beautiful aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States