Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great. I don't use the bacon because my brother doesn't eat pork; just cut the onions into rings so my husband can pick them out easier - he hates onions. Those were the only changes. We make this about once a month. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use up my frest thyme and came across this one. Luckily, I had all of the other ingredients and BOY am I glad! This is soooo good! Perfect for a clod evening's meal! WIll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
My husband and I hate thyme, so I omitted it. I also used evaporated skim milk in place of the half and half. I only used 3 chicken breasts and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I found this recipe very easy and very good and a change from regular winter soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Just terrific. I tweaked a peaked a little to my families tastes but just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I was looking for a recipe to use up some frozen corn. I had a leftover rotisserie chicken and used that in place of the chicken breasts. Also omitted the green onions as we are having an e.coli issue with them right now in our region. Added some parsley to add some green color in place of the green onions. Used whole milk instead of half and half and thickened at the end with a little cornstarch. I thought this recipe was great, and it helped me use up some stuff out of my regrigerator and freezer! I am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I just made this for dinner.My husband and I both loved it.I used roasted chicken breast and one lb.of velveeta cheese.Also added a few drops of hot sauce and only a few sprinkles of dry tyhme.It was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I only used 2% milk so expected that I would need to add some cornstarch slurry to thicken it up to chowder consistency. Other than that, it was perfect. Couldn't be easier to put together, and it was a complete meal - meat, potato, and vegetable. My fresh thyme is under snow right now, so I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Delicious and easy! I modified this a bit to suit my tastes. I added finely diced celery and carrots to the onion. I substituted 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half and half for the 2 cups of half and half. I found it needed to be thickened up with a little cornstarch mixed with water. I also added a can of creamed corn. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I didn't think this was all that great when I made it, but when I ate it the next day, I couldn't stop. Maybe I'll always make this ahead of time! I did add an 8 oz package of cheddar to the soup - can't imagine the soup without it. I also use Morningstar Farms soy bacon instead of real. It's a little thin off the stove, but it thickens up overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States