Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Quick, filling and very tasty. Wonderful for a stormy, rainy night. Dried thyme (2 tsp) also works well, as does adding a couple of chopped carrots for a little added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this is a good recipe for a great chowder. My only suggestion is to add a good dash of sherry (or cooking sherry) at the end. It makes the whole soup taste rich and gives it a beautiful aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
This was a very good chowder. My son, who is very picky, ate and ate and ate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
It was very good and the fresh thyme was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
We really liked the flavor of this, but it was a bit runny. I added cornstarch (mixed into a little of the broth then stirred into the soup) during cooking, and then let it sit a little while after cooking, and that thickened it up a bit. I think adding a can of cream of mushroom soup might also help thicken it up and add some more flavor next time. I used whole milk instead of half and half because that's what I had. I also added about 2 cups of shredded cheddar at the end of cooking and we topped our bowls of soup with a little more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I only used 2% milk so expected that I would need to add some cornstarch slurry to thicken it up to chowder consistency. Other than that, it was perfect. Couldn't be easier to put together, and it was a complete meal - meat, potato, and vegetable. My fresh thyme is under snow right now, so I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great soup. I combined this recipe with another chicken and corn chowder recipe (also on allrecipes.com). Left out the thyme (I just don't care for it). Added 1 clove of minced garlic in with the onions, used half & half combined with corn starch instead of milk and added 1 can of cream-style corn in with the frozen corn. I also sauted the chicken in the bacon fat along with the onions and garlic for added flavor. Topped with the bacon and added cheddar cheese. The soup turned out very creamy and hearty. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanoreia Mclin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
My husband and I hate thyme, so I omitted it. I also used evaporated skim milk in place of the half and half. I only used 3 chicken breasts and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Hubby loves chicken corn chowder, very filling, he even ate the leftovers. I wasn't crazy about it but it had a good flavor and didnt take as long to prepare as some soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great. I don't use the bacon because my brother doesn't eat pork; just cut the onions into rings so my husband can pick them out easier - he hates onions. Those were the only changes. We make this about once a month. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States