Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I was looking for a recipe to use up some frozen corn. I had a leftover rotisserie chicken and used that in place of the chicken breasts. Also omitted the green onions as we are having an e.coli issue with them right now in our region. Added some parsley to add some green color in place of the green onions. Used whole milk instead of half and half and thickened at the end with a little cornstarch. I thought this recipe was great, and it helped me use up some stuff out of my regrigerator and freezer! I am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Just terrific. I tweaked a peaked a little to my families tastes but just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This didn't knock my socks off. It was too thin for my liking. I ended up adding so many different ingredients it ended up being another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I found this recipe very easy and very good and a change from regular winter soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
My husband and I hate thyme, so I omitted it. I also used evaporated skim milk in place of the half and half. I only used 3 chicken breasts and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I loved this recipe, but my husband and kids took two bites and wouldn't touch it. DH says he doesn't like thyme. Who knew? I ate the leftovers and thought it was great, but I guess I won't be making it again. It was really thin and runny, but maybe it's supposed to be that way. I still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
this is a good recipe for a great chowder. My only suggestion is to add a good dash of sherry (or cooking sherry) at the end. It makes the whole soup taste rich and gives it a beautiful aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Hubby loves chicken corn chowder, very filling, he even ate the leftovers. I wasn't crazy about it but it had a good flavor and didnt take as long to prepare as some soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Quick, filling and very tasty. Wonderful for a stormy, rainy night. Dried thyme (2 tsp) also works well, as does adding a couple of chopped carrots for a little added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
This was a very good chowder. My son, who is very picky, ate and ate and ate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States