Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe according to the directions and it was a little bland. I will make it again but will need to spice it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was an extremely easy recipe. It was a good start to a soup, but I wouldn't call it a chowder because it was much too thin. I ended up using about 1/3 cup instant potato flakes to get the texture just right. It also needed a bit more flavor, so I think that I might saute the chicken in the bacon fat and add oregano, rosemary, and more thyme. There will definitely be a "next time" for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good! I eliminated the grocery store run & saved time by using frozen corn, frozen hashbrown chunks, frozen diced onions and about a tsp of dried thyme. I also did my chicken ahead of time by putting it in a crockpot to cook during the day and then just cut it up and added it. It was thin, but all the better with crackers soaking up the juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This didn't look as good as it tasted. The cream didn't set well with the chicken stock and I def had to use a thickening agent. Next time I would cut the stock and add more cream. This was like a chicken soup with corn, not a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Delicious and easy! I modified this a bit to suit my tastes. I added finely diced celery and carrots to the onion. I substituted 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half and half for the 2 cups of half and half. I found it needed to be thickened up with a little cornstarch mixed with water. I also added a can of creamed corn. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe is great, but as always, I do my own version here and there. I marinade the chicken in garlic, parsley, white wine, olive oil and paprika. I omit the green onion and the thyme. Using red potatoes and roasted sweet white corn give the chowder a wonderful savory flavor. I also use lots of butter opposed to bacon grease. There is definitely a need to add cornstarch if you prefer your chowder more thick instead of "soupy." These additions create a very satisfying comforting chowder and it's just like I serve at the restaurant I cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I only used 2% milk so expected that I would need to add some cornstarch slurry to thicken it up to chowder consistency. Other than that, it was perfect. Couldn't be easier to put together, and it was a complete meal - meat, potato, and vegetable. My fresh thyme is under snow right now, so I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
We really liked the flavor of this, but it was a bit runny. I added cornstarch (mixed into a little of the broth then stirred into the soup) during cooking, and then let it sit a little while after cooking, and that thickened it up a bit. I think adding a can of cream of mushroom soup might also help thicken it up and add some more flavor next time. I used whole milk instead of half and half because that's what I had. I also added about 2 cups of shredded cheddar at the end of cooking and we topped our bowls of soup with a little more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe, I thought it looked fairly easy. I had never made a chowder before. It was not as thick as I would have liked, I suppose thats my fault thought for using fat-free half and half. My other issue was it was kind of bland. I am adding some more salt and pepper to see if I just didn't add enough. I am considering adding shredded cheddar. I only used a little thyme since I was not that familiar with it. I could increase that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I just made this for dinner.My husband and I both loved it.I used roasted chicken breast and one lb.of velveeta cheese.Also added a few drops of hot sauce and only a few sprinkles of dry tyhme.It was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States