Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great soup. I combined this recipe with another chicken and corn chowder recipe (also on allrecipes.com). Left out the thyme (I just don't care for it). Added 1 clove of minced garlic in with the onions, used half & half combined with corn starch instead of milk and added 1 can of cream-style corn in with the frozen corn. I also sauted the chicken in the bacon fat along with the onions and garlic for added flavor. Topped with the bacon and added cheddar cheese. The soup turned out very creamy and hearty. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanoreia Mclin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was very good! My whole family loved it and, of course, it was even better the next day. I followed the recipe exactly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it was way too soupy to be called a chowder, in my opinion. Once I added some cornstarch, it thickened up a little. Next time I will try using only 1 can of chicken broth. Delicious! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I used this recipe as an idea to help me create a chicken corn chowder that even the pickiest eater could love. Try using 1 1/2 cups heavy cream instead of half an half, also ommit the thyme for picky eater sand young ones, instead increase the flavor by adding two strips more bacon and use shallots with your onions when sauteeing vegetables as well as plenty of diced garlic. Finally, I added cornstarch h to thicken as the recipe given will yeild a runny soup.... Enjoy chowder is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe according to the directions and it was a little bland. I will make it again but will need to spice it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was an extremely easy recipe. It was a good start to a soup, but I wouldn't call it a chowder because it was much too thin. I ended up using about 1/3 cup instant potato flakes to get the texture just right. It also needed a bit more flavor, so I think that I might saute the chicken in the bacon fat and add oregano, rosemary, and more thyme. There will definitely be a "next time" for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good! I eliminated the grocery store run & saved time by using frozen corn, frozen hashbrown chunks, frozen diced onions and about a tsp of dried thyme. I also did my chicken ahead of time by putting it in a crockpot to cook during the day and then just cut it up and added it. It was thin, but all the better with crackers soaking up the juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This didn't look as good as it tasted. The cream didn't set well with the chicken stock and I def had to use a thickening agent. Next time I would cut the stock and add more cream. This was like a chicken soup with corn, not a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Delicious and easy! I modified this a bit to suit my tastes. I added finely diced celery and carrots to the onion. I substituted 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half and half for the 2 cups of half and half. I found it needed to be thickened up with a little cornstarch mixed with water. I also added a can of creamed corn. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe is great, but as always, I do my own version here and there. I marinade the chicken in garlic, parsley, white wine, olive oil and paprika. I omit the green onion and the thyme. Using red potatoes and roasted sweet white corn give the chowder a wonderful savory flavor. I also use lots of butter opposed to bacon grease. There is definitely a need to add cornstarch if you prefer your chowder more thick instead of "soupy." These additions create a very satisfying comforting chowder and it's just like I serve at the restaurant I cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I only used 2% milk so expected that I would need to add some cornstarch slurry to thicken it up to chowder consistency. Other than that, it was perfect. Couldn't be easier to put together, and it was a complete meal - meat, potato, and vegetable. My fresh thyme is under snow right now, so I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States