Chicken and Corn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
The first person to taste this chili asked for the recipe! I did make the following changes and additions...3 chicken breasts instead of 4, 1 can of diced green chilis, 2 teaspoons fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder, 16 ounce can of diced tomatoes, and 2 teaspoons sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. OTHERWISE, this was a great recipe and will be added to my winter repertoire! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe has become a staple in my house. I find that simply throwing it all in together in one step turns out just as good. I cook on low for 8 hours, and then just stir. The chicken just falls apart. I add some cayenne for a kick. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
So yummy! I used black beans, as others had done and I used frozen corn because I just can't stand canned corn. I took the chili and made chicken enchiladas with it, it was wonderful! You can eat this as a chili or use the meat for tacos, enchiladas, taco salad, etc. You are only limited by your imagination! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Unlike everyone else, I followed the recipe precisely, and it was still delicious and so, saved to the "recipe box." I baked the chicken the previous night and so it marinated all day in the fridge with the salsa and spices. I may try adding black beans the next time. Yes, there will defintely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This is a great recipe! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the juice from the corn or the beans, so I reserved it to see how soupy it would be. I ended up not adding the juice, so it would be heartier. We put the chili in tortillas, added sour cream & shredded cheese, and ate them like burritos. Had chips on the side as well. I used kidney beans, black beans, and regular corn. I also added a can of chopped tomatoes with green chiles. This recipe would be great for a group of people. (I used a 5 qt crock) We had a lot left over with 3 people eating, so I am going to try to freeze my leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Like others, I added a can of green chiles and used black beans (personal preference). For sake of time, I used a can of white chicken breast in water...tasted great, wouldn't have known the difference. Served with cheese, sour cream and avocado. Leftovers will be tacos. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Oh so yummy!! I always stray from the original recipe some. I used frozen chicken breasts and cubed them after it cooked for a while. I added a can of diced tomatoes chili style, medium salsa, black beans, pinto beans, kidney beans, diced green chilies, mexicorn and white chicken chili seasoning. I also used a little chicken broth so it wouldn't dry out. It was excellent! Served with tortilla chips, sour cream and shredded cheese! Can't wait for lunch leftovers :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
what a tasty soup. it was perfect considering the horrible weather we are having! i took the advice of another viewer and used enchilada sauce instead of salsa. it was very good that way. i used fresh garlic instead of powder, and i used more chicken then called for jsut because we like a very hearty chili( and because the enchilada sauce i used was a little thin)I was very pleased with the taste, may add a couple more spices to it in the future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
LoVeD this one! I started cooking in the morning though. No need to cook through the night unless you have to have it ready to eat by 8 am! I used fresh salsa instead of that yucky canned stuff. Instead of putting it in a bowl, we rolled it up in some whole wheat/corn tortilla's and added red onion, cheese and shredded lettuce. I'll make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I am simmering the last of this now and it smells wonderful and the taste is great. I did my own version. I used 6 breast and instead of salsa, I did 2 cans of enchillada sauce because my family hates salsa. I added 2 cans of chicken broth so it wasn't so thick. I also added just plain canned corn and 3 cans of chilli beans in mild sauce. Can't wait to eat for supper. I will defiantly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States