Chicken and Cold Noodles with Spicy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Okay this was great, but I had to make alot of substitutions. My tahini was a little dried out so I used peanut butter. I used udon noodles, and chili sauce instead of chili oil (1/4 t is all you need, it's hot!). Minor changes, but I LOVED the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is also good warm. I made a double batch: half to eat warm at dinner and half to chill for lunch the next day. Very tasty. I can't seem to find hot chili oil anywhere, so I substituted a smaller amount of Tabasco sauce. EDITED TO ADD: Finally located some chile oil, and the recipe is even better using it (the full amount called for in the recipe). I've found that the chicken needs to cook a bit longer, closer to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Outstanding...it was all gone; I made a double portion to share with friends. I had no peanut oil or tahini so I used canola oil and peanut butter. I used the flat 'linguine' type Chinese noodles. It can be heated if you prefer it that way....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was a HIT with my family, including the 2 year old. I made some changes - doubled it all, seved warm, used whole wheat penne pasta, and blanched 1 bunch of bok choi leaves and steams (sliced small) for 2 minutes in the reserve liquid and added it to the mix. In addition, I just mixed everything together rather than putting the chicken on top of the pasta. It went great with roasted asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It's hard to give this a rating because the family had mixed reviews. 2 of us loved it (the females) and 2 did not like it at all (the males). I followed the recipe except for being unable to get chili oil at my grocery store. Both of the guys felt like something was missing - vegetables?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I could take or leave the chicken part. I made mine with regular pasta and it was delicious! It happens to taste just like Annie's Goddess Dressing. Yum! I think it would also be great substituting peanut butter (the real stuff not Jif) for the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent - I added a bit more water to the finished dish just before serving to make the noodles a little 'wetter' - the resulting sauce was wonderful! I also added a good sized handful of chopped fresh cilantro. Definitely a "make-again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I had a bunch of leftover linguini from a catering gig that was pretty bland (had oil and sun-dried tomatoes on it) and was looking for a good use. This worked out great and tasted just like the sesame cold noodles I get from Chinese take-out. I totally agree with lovemymutts' review - I skipped the chicken. This could use a touch of sweetness, so I think the natural peanut butter would do the trick (or a mix with tahini). I also toasted some black sesame seeds and threw them in, and subbed sriracha sauce for the chili oil, as I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
One of my favorite warm-weather meals is the Chicken with Cold Noodles from Szechuan Noodle Bowl in Seattle. This is close, but I want to play with it a little. The sauce was a little thinner than I'd like, but it was still very good. We added julienned carrots and cucumber, like the restaurant does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States