Chicken and Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I leave the almonds out, but other than that, I follow the recipe exactly and LOVE it. Lots of taste and easy to make - don't let the braid scare you away - it's not a big deal :) I've made this quite a few times and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe is good the way it says here. What I have found is even better is use the same seasonings, but use steak and mushrooms instead of chicken and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Matranga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was good. I made a few changes, following some of the reviews. I'm sensitive to raw onion, so I sauteed it in a bit of olive oil along with the garlic. I used a small amount of chopped roasted red pepper. I used less than a tsp of dill. I used low-fat mayo and grilled chicken. I also used a colby jack mix of cheese. It was yummy! I think I had more broccoli than it called for, but I liked it that way. I slightly steamed the broccoli and let it cool first before putting it in the mix .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Varner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this for the playoffs last year and was excellent, will definitely be making this again and again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great easy to make recipe. I cooked the chicken and veggies before making the mix and followed the rest of the instructions . One tip of advise is to cook the braid at 350 degrees for 50 minutes to a complete hour. I had no problems with the dough not cooking properly and it was not burnt. The dish was filling and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is delicious! My husband and I loved it, and I will definitely be making it again. Wonderful recipe! I used baconnaise (bacon-flavored mayo) instead of mayo because it's all I had on hand, but that added a little nice bacon-y flavor that went well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
If the outside of your braid is golden brown and the inside is still uncooked, simply lower the oven temperature. I made this last night, with the following notes: I put a cup of fresh broccoli florets into a pyrex measuring cup, and nuked it for 1 minute, perfect for this recipe. Due to dietary limitations, I did not use onion, or almonds, and instead of dill weed (not fond of the taste), I used 1 tsp Italian seasonings. I mixed the mayo, 2c thawed rotisserie chicken I had frozen last month, seasoned salt, and Italian seasonings. After creating the braid, I brushed with a beaten egg (not just the whites) and the end result was a delicious, beautiful golden brown, shiny pastry. I baked at 350 for 26 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
feeding a large crowd (250 people) Instead of making the braid I filled the indivsual crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I follow the recipe almost exactly with the exceptions: I saute the onion and bell pepper in olive oil before adding to the rest of the mixture, I boil the broccoli until soft, I cut the dough strips after I have placed the filling down the center of the dough and I toast the almonds before adding to the mixture. Sometimes I don't have almonds so I have to substitute a different nut and that works out fine. Walnuts taste really good in place of the almonds. I also use a whole egg for the egg wash. I use parchment paper under this while it bakes so it doesn't burn and stick to the pan because I've had problems with this braid burning on the bottom (and sticking to the baking sheet) and ending up doughy in the middle. Overall a great, quick and tasty recipe my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious way to use up left over chicken. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States