Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Spicy and wonderful! Used 2 cans of chicken broth instead of the water, and 1 tsp chipotle chili powder instead of crushing a dry one. Cooked it a bit longer than 30 minutes. Very tasty, and healthy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Worthy of 5 stars following advice from other members' suggestions - especially less water! I used about 3 cups which was plenty - otherwise would have been soup, not chili! Also added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and more cumin than what was called for (other suggested changes). I chopped up a canned chipotle pepper instead of grinding a dried one because I had it on hand - great flavor. My hint/help: Pound the chicken breasts between sheets of plastic wrap or wax paper to tenderize them before browning if not using ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Way, WAY too spicy with the chili powder, chili pepper, cayenne & pepper sauce. I really had to doctor it to make it palatable for my family - and we are no strangers to heat! I ended up adding milk, peanut butter, chocolate, sugar, lime juice and a can of whole tomatoes just to be able to eat it! Good flavor, but if I ever make it again I would definitely leave out most if not all of the chipotle and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Good start; I personally was a little liberal with my spices, but that's just how I enjoy it. The major issue is is that the end result was just too watery. Even going off of some other reviews, I only added 3 + 1 cups of water. I drained the corn, but left the beans undrained, pouring that liquid into the chili at the end. So I ended up with more of a soup than a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I only had 2 chicken breasts on hand when I made this recipe so I decided to bring bacon to the party which may have worsened the healthy aspect but didn't hurt the flavor. I am a spice fiend so I added sliced habanero peppers as well. This was a very easy and delicious recipe and I will surely repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Was delicious but if you don't like something spicy you may want to put less cayenne and less black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs in place of breasts, added 1 small can of green chiles, and added a 15 oz can of crushed tomatoes. Put it together the night before and then cooked in a slow cooker the next day while at work. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this from leftover bbq chicken legs, and it was beyond DELICIOUS! I used less water since I was using cooked meat. It still was a little soupy fo some, so I'd add water as you go along. But it thickens up the 2nd day, and is even better! Sooooo good. Like a liquidy pulled chicken taco. AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chachibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great basic recipe. This is easy to throw in substitutes. I only added 3 cups of water and a splash of chicken broth after the first simmer. I used 1 green pepper and added 3 garlic cloves and omitted the corn. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This recipe gets 5+ stars from me because it is very forgiving and my family loved it! Even the left-overs were a rave! I did not have bell peppers so I omitted those. I did not have kidney beans so I used canned great northern. I did not have roasted garlic tomato paste so I used regular and I did not use green pepper sauce. Next time I might make it exact to the recipe but then again I might not depends on what I am out of at the time, but I can assure you it will still turn out great. Thank-you KORREN for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States