Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I really loved this. I've gotten lucky recently finding chili recipes that are different from the usual. (Not that the usual is bad.) I thought the chicken made a big difference and I like a variety of beans. Except, I admit to not even knowing what chipotle is and used ground cayenne instead, so I don't know if this made a big difference -- I just liked the chicken and the spiciness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great! Always looking for ways to add beans and fiber to meals. Could not find green Tobasco locally, so added a small can of green chiles to the mix. Will make this one, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this one. I actually won a Chili cookoff with this. Instead of the Green Sauce, I added Diced Green Chili's. It was a hit! The flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was very, very tasty and my husband said it was a definite repeat. One suggestion, though: right after you brown the chunks of chicken, remove them with a slotted spoon into a medium/large bowl and shred them. Then return them to the pot and continue as normal. I strongly endorse this for a hearty mid-winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe is, hands down, the best chili I have *ever* tasted. I pared down the water to a total of 3 cups instead of 5, and couldn't find a chili pepper, so just upped the powder. I intended to submit a photo but we ate the entire batch so quickly that it'll have to wait until the next time we make it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Fabulous. I only had green pepper, onion and garlic. Did not use chipotle only cayenne and chili powder. I did add an additional can of stewed tomatoes and more beans as I like pretty hearty. It was really yummy!Use plenty of fresh cilantro.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a great chicken chili! It is very tasty and hearty. My boyfriend said it was the best. I didn’t use the chipotle pepper, corn, or green pepper sauce, because I did not have. I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the paste. I followed previous reviews and only used 3 cups of water and added chicken bouillon with the water. I also added a chopped jalapeno. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Spice island has ground chipotle chili so I used that instead of grinding my own. Other than that I followed the recipe as written and my family all wanted seconds. Only the kids had the sour cream to cut the spice. this is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was so GOOD! The flavor was perfect and the black beans went well with the chicken. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Awesome recipe. Everyone loved it! I didn't use chipotle and doubled the chili powder. I also cut the water down to 3 cups and used an extra can of beans and skipped the corn. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States