Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this one. I actually won a Chili cookoff with this. Instead of the Green Sauce, I added Diced Green Chili's. It was a hit! The flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a very delicious chili. I loved that it contained chicken for a nice twist and the 2 types of beans added nice color with the corn & peppers. Very colorful. I happen to enjoy a very spicy chili so I added about 1/2 tbl. more chili powder, 1/2 tbl more cayenne pepper, 2 diced jalapenos & 1 tsp more cumin powder. I also found the chili to be a little too runny because of all the water. I simmered for an extra 20 minutes and it was still "soupier" then I prefer. Next time, I would add 3 cups during the first step adding water in the recipe but I would only add 1 cup in the second step adding water in the recipe. I served it by topping with sliced jalapenos, sour cream, shredded mexican cheese & chopped cilantro. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
really fantastic, would defintely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
very good, made this on a couple occasions. i omitted the corn and replaced it with a can of diced tomatoes, and i would also suggest omitting a cup or two of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! Family likes it. Reduce to 4 cups of water(I used chicken both ) for a thicker chili. And I used chicken thighs in place of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RISA COATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great! Always looking for ways to add beans and fiber to meals. Could not find green Tobasco locally, so added a small can of green chiles to the mix. Will make this one, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful. The aroma of all the spices just woke the sences. The cilantro was a refreshing addition to the recipe. I let the water in the first part of the recipe simmer a liitle more than it asked and then add the second part and the chili was thick enough, A well rounded Chili. Will make again!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I really loved this. I've gotten lucky recently finding chili recipes that are different from the usual. (Not that the usual is bad.) I thought the chicken made a big difference and I like a variety of beans. Except, I admit to not even knowing what chipotle is and used ground cayenne instead, so I don't know if this made a big difference -- I just liked the chicken and the spiciness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was delicious-I love the cilantro topping. I've made it twice in three weeks. I made small !modifications to the base recipe by omitting corn, and adding a large can of diced tomatoes. I also add a diced jalapeno to give it a little extra kick! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I also added a can of diced tomatoes (as suggested by another reviewer), but still added the corn (omitted by that reviewer), and reduced the water by 2 cups (we like a thick chili). Very excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States