Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
really fantastic, would defintely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I really loved this. I've gotten lucky recently finding chili recipes that are different from the usual. (Not that the usual is bad.) I thought the chicken made a big difference and I like a variety of beans. Except, I admit to not even knowing what chipotle is and used ground cayenne instead, so I don't know if this made a big difference -- I just liked the chicken and the spiciness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great! Always looking for ways to add beans and fiber to meals. Could not find green Tobasco locally, so added a small can of green chiles to the mix. Will make this one, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this one. I actually won a Chili cookoff with this. Instead of the Green Sauce, I added Diced Green Chili's. It was a hit! The flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a very delicious chili. I loved that it contained chicken for a nice twist and the 2 types of beans added nice color with the corn & peppers. Very colorful. I happen to enjoy a very spicy chili so I added about 1/2 tbl. more chili powder, 1/2 tbl more cayenne pepper, 2 diced jalapenos & 1 tsp more cumin powder. I also found the chili to be a little too runny because of all the water. I simmered for an extra 20 minutes and it was still "soupier" then I prefer. Next time, I would add 3 cups during the first step adding water in the recipe but I would only add 1 cup in the second step adding water in the recipe. I served it by topping with sliced jalapenos, sour cream, shredded mexican cheese & chopped cilantro. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I didn't use the corn but cut up a can of stewed tomatoes - it really enhanced the flavor. Also used 2 cans of black beans and no red - we love blackbeans! I used the maximum on all the spices and used others suggestions to use only 1 cup of water on the 2nd addition. Very good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
very good, made this on a couple occasions. i omitted the corn and replaced it with a can of diced tomatoes, and i would also suggest omitting a cup or two of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This truly was a yummy chili, I just think, as others have noted before me, that the recipe needs to be changed because 5 cups is just too much water for a chili consistency. I simmered for an hour and still couldn't get it to look like chili! It still makes a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was very, very tasty and my husband said it was a definite repeat. One suggestion, though: right after you brown the chunks of chicken, remove them with a slotted spoon into a medium/large bowl and shred them. Then return them to the pot and continue as normal. I strongly endorse this for a hearty mid-winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe is, hands down, the best chili I have *ever* tasted. I pared down the water to a total of 3 cups instead of 5, and couldn't find a chili pepper, so just upped the powder. I intended to submit a photo but we ate the entire batch so quickly that it'll have to wait until the next time we make it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States