Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It is very delicious. I left a star off just because it was too spicy for my 2 year old, but I should have known from the ingredients that it would be. It seemed a bit watery so I left out the additional 2 cups of water, so that probably made it spicier. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was delicious-I love the cilantro topping. I've made it twice in three weeks. I made small !modifications to the base recipe by omitting corn, and adding a large can of diced tomatoes. I also add a diced jalapeno to give it a little extra kick! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful. The aroma of all the spices just woke the sences. The cilantro was a refreshing addition to the recipe. I let the water in the first part of the recipe simmer a liitle more than it asked and then add the second part and the chili was thick enough, A well rounded Chili. Will make again!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I also added a can of diced tomatoes (as suggested by another reviewer), but still added the corn (omitted by that reviewer), and reduced the water by 2 cups (we like a thick chili). Very excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Popping with healthy flavor! I used dried beans, but otherwise, stuck to the recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Made some changes to make it a veggie recipe, and it has been a huge hit among friends. It's a pretty flexible recipe, so anything chili related fits in. I eliminate the chicken, and instead add cooked brown rice in before the final simmer, about 1.5 - 2 cups. I don't use the corn, but instead add a second can of kidney beans. I rinse two cans of beans, add the liquid of the third can only. Use jalapenos instead of the sauce stuff, and fresh garlic (about 2 or 3 cloves) and tomato paste instead of what's listed. Makes a great amount of leftovers for two people, which means lunch is ready for the week! I top it with a small sprinkle of cheddar cheese, served in a multigrain bread bowl. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I've made it twice to rave reviews. I omitted the green pepper sauce (didn't have any) and last time I left out the cayenne since my husband has a hard time with spicy stuff. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was not quite right for me. It was a good jumping off point, but as soon as I added the 3 cups of chicken stock in place of the water (I never did ad the other two!), it never got back on track from there. I had to doctor it up with more than double the spices and extra beans. I think good chili doesn't really need a recipe, it's best made to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I had recently tried the Hormel Chipotle Chicken Chili for lunch. I decided to search for a recipe that I could make myself and found this one. It is absolutely wonderful!! I did make a couple of changes. I used ground chipotle pepper instead of grinding a pepper (1/4 tsp) and used green chilis instead of green sauce (1 small can) I didn't brown the chicken, instead I threw it all in the slow cooker adding about 1 cup of water and cooked it on low for 4-5 hours. I made this for our annual chili cook off at work, and won!!! As we say in our home, this is a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This chilli turned out awesome! We enjoyed it with saltines and fat free cheddar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States