Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My rice cooked fine in the 45 min. prescribed by the recipe. I did make sure the casserole was well covered while cooking because I thought the previous reviewer's problem might have been that all of the moisture cooked off. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and added just a little bit of water. I also added cheese on top because I left out the chilis and cilantro because of my restricted diet. I thought it would be too bland otherwise. Overall, a satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very tasty and filling. I used crushed tomatoes and added some garlic and some frozen corn and some extra rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and made this for a family gathering. I used long grain white rice and it did not cook at all in the 45 minute time stated in the recipe. Luckily I had a lot of side dishes prepared because no one could eat the main course. Maybe I should have used instant/minute rice - the recipe does not specify. Or maybe the time should have been scaled since the dish was scaled. In any event I tried cooking some of the leftovers in the crock pot the next day and at the 5-hour mark - on High the rice still was not cooked enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great! I made so many mods... but it made the process simpler and healthier. First of all, I added 1 cup of corn, 2 cups of chopped kale, 1/2 cup of water to moisten the rice, and a can of kidney beans. I left out the butter and onion (Did not have an onion), so I chopped up the chicken, kept it raw, and threw EVERYTHING into a casserole dish, stirred it up, covered with foil (VERY important), and cooked for about 80 minutes. Only one dish, topped with sour cream, quite healthy and delicious! Keep an eye on the rice to see it does not run dry. If you have too much moisture at the end, take the foil off and bake for additional 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karen
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I used canned black beans and the rice came out perfect. I think I will try rotel next time for the tomatoes. Good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very tasty dish. This will be a regular on our dinner calendar. The only thing I did differently was to use two cans of Rotel and one can of plain diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes & green chilis seperately. Very easy, no fuss kind of meal. Would also be yummy with Monterey Jack or Cheddar cheese baked on top for last several minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If I wanted to use canned black beans, would I use a 14 - 15 ounce can for this in place of the 8 oz of dried and then cooked black beans? This sounds great and I would LOVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe, though I changed a few things to suit my family. I used crushed tomatoes, 3 different kinds of beans, more spices and skipped the rice altogether. A note about wild rice - it takes ALOT longer to cook than regular white or brown rice, and retains its chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
super simple - quite tasty! i use brown rice and couldn't find any tips in the other reviews, so i left the rice out of the oven and made it separately on the stove. then i just layered the casserole over a bed of rice - it was quite tasty! i also tried the rotel instead of chili's and it was great - still needed a little something, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Excellent! Even my picky eater at this! I added cilantro and garlic to the onions and baked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes (I live at high altitude) The rice cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States