Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I had leftover grilled chicken and brown rice, so this made the work much easier. I added a little red pepper and used rotel tomatoes. Very good . Happy Cinco de Mayo ( a day early)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
It was eas. My family liked it and I will make it again. However to me it seemed as if it was missing the most important ingredient. I will play with the recipe next time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great! I made so many mods... but it made the process simpler and healthier. First of all, I added 1 cup of corn, 2 cups of chopped kale, 1/2 cup of water to moisten the rice, and a can of kidney beans. I left out the butter and onion (Did not have an onion), so I chopped up the chicken, kept it raw, and threw EVERYTHING into a casserole dish, stirred it up, covered with foil (VERY important), and cooked for about 80 minutes. Only one dish, topped with sour cream, quite healthy and delicious! Keep an eye on the rice to see it does not run dry. If you have too much moisture at the end, take the foil off and bake for additional 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Th rice didn't cook and ruined the entire dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My family absolutely loved this recipe! I made it twice and my teenagers liked it too even with the tomatoes:) Easy to prepare as well. I made it a second time and didn't have the fresh cilantro...it did not taste as well. Make sure you have it...gives a fresh unique flavor to the dish. I Added a dollop of sour cream for a nice finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I added red and green peppers and white onions. The whole family loved it but my husband thought it was just OK, not his type of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good, cheap and easy! I used 20 oz Rotel (mild) in place of tomatoes/green chile peppers. Next time I will try half Rotel/half diced tomatoes. Also, used one 10oz can of black beans. I love Beans and will add more next time. I used left over turkey and that worked fine. I covered the pan tight with foil and it cooked the rice perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wow, really easy and really tasty! I put some shredded cheddar cheese on top about 30 minutes into the cooking time, as well. I served it with some greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Added Chedder Jack and authentic Mexican Cheese Blend from Sargento Cheese company on the top of the casserole before I put it in the oven. Also added more beans and half a chicken more to the 4 serving recipe to suit the people I was serving. Adding tortilla chips on the side was a great idea. I made a cheese, bean, and salsa layered dip with chips and sour cream as an appetizer instead of serving it with the casserole since the casserole is already full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made this in a slow cooker and then used it as a filling for flour tortillas. I left off the spicy stuff and added chili pepper as needed. This was a bit liquidy, but that was to be expected since I made some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States