Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
BLAND!!! I followed recipe exactly. Afew reviews said rice wasn't done. I cooked mine, covered (per another reviewer to ensure rice cooked) for 55-60 min, rice STILLas not done. Horribly bland, wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I liked this! My bf didn't, but I think that's because it had colors in it! :-) My rice was already cooked, therefore I didn't need all of the liquid from a big can of diced tomatoes. I used rotel and then added some green and red peppers for a little added flavor, but I think this would've been fine exactly the way it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Chicken & Black Bean Casserole Haiku: "Super-tasty meal. (With several small changes.) Demolished dinner!" I had some leftover rice, so I didn't have to fret the "will-it-or-won't-it-be-done?" of using uncooked rice. I sprinkled my chicken w/ Adobo seasoning, used Rotel (instead of stewed tomatoes + chile peppers) and put shredded Mexi-blend cheese on top while it baked. It could've used a *bit* more spice, so next time I make it, I may add some of AR's "Taco Seasoning I" as well as garlic, but wow, this was still a pretty slammin' casserole, and one that I plan on wrapping the leftovers in a burrito for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very yummy! I made the following changes: boiled the chicken and then pulled apart (because this is my favorite way to prep chicken for stews and casseroles), used oil instead of butter, added garlic to the onion, added the chicken and all the remaining ingredients except the rice and cilantro along with about 3/4 of a cup of water and covered to simmer, prepared long grain brown rice separately and added to the simmering pot, added cilantro just before serving. This recipe will be going into regular rotation in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fc7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent. Simple to make and very tasty. Highly recommended. I added a clove of garlic and went with a full can of black beans rather than half. I also doubled the rice, and concur with other reviewers that you need to add additional water when you put it into the oven, to prevent it drying out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Fantastic! Used fresh jalapenos, sauted with the onions, instead of canned chilis. Will be added to regular meals in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used instant rice in this recipe and it cooked beautifully. I also topped with shredded cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. I served it with sour cream and guacamole on the side. I loved this dish, but my husband and daughters thought there was too much cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My fiancee and I loved this recipe! Next time, I make this (which will be soon, I'm sure), I will definately cook the rice separately (added the suggested amount of rice, left enough juice from the tomatoes-used rotel w chiles-and corn and it was still undercooked). Also, replaced with 2-14 oz cans of black beans and 2-14 oz cans kidney beans, can of corn. Not very spicy, so I'm going to add 1/4 T cumin next time. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saydibaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yum! I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed and canned black beans instead of dry. I also added 1/2 frozen corn, salt and minced garlic! I had to cook this for an hour so the rice would soften, prob my fault since I cooked it without a lid the first 20 minutes. *****UPDATE*****When I made this again I just cooked it all on the stove for 35-40 minutes, until the rice was cooked. I had to stir ocassionally so the rice would not stick to the bottom of the pan. No heating up the oven and only ONE pan to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We all love this dish. I made a few adjustments for our taste. Everyone was surprised at how much they enjoyed this dish tonight and many more dinners in the future. Some of us scooped it up with Tortilla chips. I personally loved it with a dollop of sour cream.Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States