Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I fixed this recipe just as is and found it to be a little on the bland side. So the next time, I got a little more creative. I cooked homestyle egg noodles in 20 oz. of canned chicken broth and then added the frozen veggies along with some frozen chopped brocolli. I added some thyme, parsley, and pepper. This simmered away while I deboned a large rotissory chicken. Put it all together with the condensed soup, cheese and sour cream. Made the biscuit dough and laid it all over the top of the cassorole. Baked it for the 35 minutes uncovered and then an additional 20 minutes covered to make sure the dough was fully cooked. This time it was an absolute 5 star. Great comfort food and a wonderful dish to share with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband loves this!! And its super easy! Its great to make when you don't have a lot of time in the evening but want a warm comfort food for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was rather tasty. I used colby-monteray jack cheese and added a bit of rosemary and season all to the veggies as I microwaved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The kids love this. I omit the cheese because I have found it really doesn't add anything to the dish. I do double the biscuit part and add garlic powder and parsley. I have a tendency to use more milk in the biscuit part because I found it too dry. I add it until it gets gummy. Of course, the recipe as is would be bland. So I add salt and pepper, use pre cooked chicken fajita strips and add a dash of red pepper. I have had no problems that the other reviewers had with the top not baking well. Real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was an easy recipe to make. Although it was easy to make my husband and I did not care for it at all. The biscuits made with the sour scream were tasty, but the chicken mixture was bland and neither of us liked the cheese in it. IF, I were to make this one again, I would defiantly leave out the cheese. Most likely I will not be making this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I gave this a four because while I thought it was a three, my girlfriend thought it was a five. I made a few minor changes- I used low fat sour cream to cut the fat. I added chicken broth because it seemed a little thick to me, I also added some garlic powder, lots of black pepper, and a dash of salt. It was still a little bland for me, but I think it's because I boiled the chicken. I think next time I will sautee the chicken and veggies. I really liked the sour cream biscuits. They really make this recipe. It looks pretty and homemade when it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by usmccopwife43
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I really enjoyed this very much the only thing is I forgot to add the Cheddar Cheese to the mix but I said I am going to add it so I added it to the top of the biscuits and the family all just loved it the same. I will try next time to mix it in the main ingredients. Also I used sodium free cream of chicken soup which brought down the calories as well as preservative free chicken which brings the sodium down. I also used low fat sour cream. I try very hard to stay with as healthy as I can in anything I eat but boy I really enjoyed this very much :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmccopwife43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was very delicious! I really didn't have to make many changes other than I forgot to thaw out my mixed veges to I just sauteed them with the chicken breasts in a skillet till the chicken was done. I also used Mrs. Dash table blen seasoning on the chicken and veges along with salt and pepper. It turned out wonderful and is alot better than the homestyle bakes. Thank you so much for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eldridge4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrod, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Easy to prepare but bland in flavor. I added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning to the biscuit batter. I wish that I would have added seasoning to the chicken/veggie part as well. I used light sour cream and reduced fat crm chik'n soup to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States