Chicken and Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I made this 1 other time before and followed the recipe to a T. It was very good and the proportions are very balanced. This time I made sure to cut the celery and carrot pieces smaller than the onion so that they are all done at the same time. I also substituted some half-and-half for the chicken broth (1/4 of the portion) just to give it some richness and color. I added about 3/4 tbsp. of poultry seasoning and a dash of cayenne. I used frozen peas instead of canned and did not bake the biscuits with the casserole. I used frozen buttermilk biscuits and poured the mixture on top. I love the way that the biscuit melts when the sauce is poured on it. This time it came out DIVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is a staple wintertime recipe. Also, hate to say it, but I've made it both with chicken broth and then with 4 bouillon cubes + 4 cups water. Now I like to go "fresh" when I can, but it was much blander with the chick. broth. Tastes considerably better with the bouillon cubes; either way, it's an excellent recipe, and nice to see a casserole without a can of soup in it, and also with so many fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
UPDATE: Try this recipe with mashed potoatoes on top in lieu of the biscuits called for (i.e. like a chicken shepherd's pie). I got this idea from Rachel Ray. All in all, I prefer this better as is (i.e. with a biscuit crust), but had to give it a try... This is an excellent recipe!!! My friend who has the "favorites" cookbook recommended it to me (it's in the original paperback). I do not like the "crust" part of pot pies, but I love the filling, so this recipe is perfect for me! The biscuits are just yummy! I made this casserole for my parents and they loved it too! I added some fresh mushrooms, pearl onions and a little cookig sherry (you could also use white wine...) to make it extra special :) I made more than 8 biscuits (8 didn't seem to be enough to cover the entire 9x13 pan) and didn't flatten them as the recipe directed (I just spooned heaping mounds of biscuit mix onto the filling). This dish pairs nicely with a tossed salad. I'll definitely make this again. It's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Great recipe--I would use a little less black pepper, and I used Bisquick baking mix with 2/3 cup buttermilk instead of regular milk. Bought a whole roasted chicken and used that for the 4 cups of chicken meat. Oh yes, you must use frozen peas instead of canned, big difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made the chicken mixture according to the recipe, except I added a little poultry seasoning. It was very good but next time I make this I'll use frozen peas instead of canned. Some other reviews had mentioned there needed to be more biscuits so I used 3 cups Bisquit, 2 cups milk and two teaspoons basil. It made 12 good sized biscuits that covered the whole pan. I didn't roll them as the recipe stated, I just did drop biscuits. This was very good and will definately be made again. However, we had leftover since there's only two of us and the leftovers were not great, the biscuits soaked up the broth and it was just kinda dry, so I would suggest cutting the recipe in half, using a 9x9 inch pan if you're only making it for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Bummer! How did everyone rate this 5 stars? Maybe I missed something, because I thought that this recipe was not so great. Maybe the basil biscuits didn't suit my taste. If you make this recipe I would recommend using prepared biscuits and not attemting the sticky mess... the end result was not worth the effort. SORRY! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Soooooo very good! I didn't add the celery, but I did add corn and potatoes (that I cooked in the microwave first). I also used 4 chicken stock cubes and 4 cups of water instead of the chicken broth. I didn't roll or flatten the biscuits with my hands as the instructions stated to do. I realized that my biscuit mix was much too sticky to mess with so instead I just spooned 6 "blops" of the mix onto the chicken mixture. Then I cooked the whole thing in a round casserole dish instead of the 9 X 13 inch baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe!I left out the celery. I added extra onion and more peas. The basil is a must! It really make the sauce! I floured the biscuits in a small bowl instead of on wax paper...less mess!I didn't cover it the last 10 min. either. I will probably 1/2 the recipe next time, it makes alot.Perfect for a big family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANDIYOHIV
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I was really surprised by this. I've made similar dishes which usually turn out pretty bland but since this had such good ratings I thought I'd try it. It's really good! The basil is a great touch just make sure to follow the recipe and not put in too much. I can easily tell how it could be overpowering and ruin the dish if you add too much. I'd suggest changing the veggie mix a little by adding mushrooms, more onions, a few diced potatoes and green beans would be nice and cut down on the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
OMG,these are so awesome! I just served them for dinner and there's absolutely no leftovers. Everyone went for seconds and kept on raving about how great it was. I did however tweaked the recipe to our liking. I didn't use chicken broth, flour, sugar, basil or milk. I used two cans of cream of chicken soup, added 1/2 teaspoon fresh chopped rosemary and 1 tablespoon of cilantro. I also didn't make my own biscuits, just used the canned stuff. I did however overcooked it a bit. I suggest not to follow the cooking time in the oven and watch it carefully (my mistake, but it turned out great still). Now that there's no leftovers, I need to make something else for the others who aren't home...=/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States