Chicken and Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. The only thing I would change is to use a little less pepper. My "no liking biscuits" husband and my 2 year old wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was REALLY good. However, I should note that I went with another reviewer's suggestion of using a cup of half & half (1/4 of the broth ingredient) to 3 cups chicken broth. Made it rich and creamy, which is the way I like this kind of dish. I noticed another reviewer's comment that her biscuits soaked up all of the 'gravy' but also noticed that she said she used drop biscuits. I would like to point out that using drop biscuits *will* soak up the gravy, which is possibly why this recipe suggests rolled biscuits instead. I would go with the biscuits the recipe states or make your biscuits separate rather than baking them with the chicken mixture. This would also be great over mashed potatoes or toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I found this recipe doing an ingredients search for chicken, basil, and carrots so right off the bat I was going to modify it to whatever I had on hand. I had a lot of fresh green beans and I substituted those for the canned/frozen peas. I also like things a tad spicy so I made a dry rub for my chicken, which was cooked in a NuWave. The dry rub was 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/2 tsp sesame seeds. I sprinkled the dry rub on each side of the chicken tenders prior to cooking. In my veggie mix I had sweet onion, carrots, celery, and green beans, all chopped to bite size. I sauteed them in butter for a bit, then added chicken broth to cover them and a bouillon chicken cube to add flavor based on previous reviewer comments. I then added a little less than 1/3 cup of flour - my goal was to have the sauce thicken but still be a bit soupy. The major sub I made was corn bread for the biscuits, which came out absolutely amazing since corn bread was a little sweet and mixed very well with the spicy chicken profile. For that I used a package of corn bread muffin mix with egg and milk and then spread the mixture over my casserole dish containing the veggies and cut up chicken mix. I baked that in the over for 30 minutes at 350 and the meal came out phenomenal. Corn bread did not get soggy at all for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My kids' current favorite and less work than the chicken pot pie I used to make. I also add cubed blanched potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, bell pepper, and frozen peas and corn to the filling and use "Chef Jon's Buttermilk Biscuits" recipe instead of the buttermilk baking mix (scoop blobs of dough to dot the top of the casserole - no need to roll and flatten balls of dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Good recipe, but after reviewing others I make some changes. I used very big frozen biscuits and it added to much dough, but I think with regular size biscuit it would be a 4.5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was very good. I didn't have buttermilk biscuit mix, but instead I made my own biscuits. I might try adding some (partially cooked) cubed potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Excellent comfort food recipe! Plenty of flavor! Easy to make; I just used frozen mixed vegetables, including frozen biscuits. The only suggestion I have is to make the biscuits separately & add to meal when done; if you don't want the biscuits to be soggy/mushy. But all- in- all my 9 yr old loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yum!! Great comfort food. With my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this as written except substituted boullion for broth and corn for the peas. It was good, my husband said he could eat it everyday. But my only thing is that I think baking it all together is pointless. I think the sauce could just be made on the stove, then biscuits in the oven and then sauce just poured over the biscuits. It would save the step of putting it all in a baking dish and baking it. I hate washing those big casserole dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We love the specific flavoring of pepper and basil in this recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle DeCaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States