Chicken and Bacon Shish Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This went over really well when we had friends over for a BBQ. One thing I would change is that I would just use regular bacon instead of the thick cut. I ran out of thick cut and used a few strips of regular and found them a lot easier to wrap with, and they cooked better. Other than that small change, I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
ABSOLUTELY DIVINE!!! A+++. VERY easy to make. I mixed the marinade (which I doubled to be sure to cover all the chicken) threw in the chicken and let it marinate for 5 hours. I put some crushed garlic (just smash the garlic clove with a knife or bottom of a pan) into the marinade to give it a little kick. I also added grape tomatoes, onions and green bellpeppers to the skewers because we love grilled veggies over here. SOOOOO easy for those who don't have a lot of time in the kitchen. Just throw together all the ingredients and marinate. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!! I am going to try it with sirloin next time. A+++ job Angie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. From reading other reviewers comments, I'd like to add that if you boil your bacon for about 5 minutes before you wrap your chicken, it cooks more evenly and won't burn before the chicken is finished. Also for those who like a little kick, add a slice of pickled jalapeno inside each kabob. The sweetness of the honey and the kick of jalapeno are a great combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I never knew Shish Kabobs could taste this good! My whole family loved it! While making it, we found it was easiest to put the chicken into a plastic bag and pour the marinade over it. (same thing with the mushrooms in a seperate bag). We actually made twice the amount of marinade- which made it incredible. TRY THIS ONE AT HOME! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe!! It has become one of our favorites. I would change nothing. The only hint I might pass on is that we do the chicken on one skewer and the veg on the other so that we can get the bacom crisp;we had trouble doing that when we grilled them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I doubled the sauce so that I could use some of it to marinade the mushrooms seperately. With the mushrooms - I also marinated some chopped red/green bell peppers. This addition was not only tasty but added GREAT colors to the kabobs. As I was pulling these off the grill, I heard my roommate hollar "WHOA!" = Instantly, I thought he had burnt himself but instead - he was sneaking a cooked chicken peice off the skewer before dinner to "taste-test" (as he puts it) and it was SOOO tasty, he couldn't help but cry out! He also told half of his softball team about the kabobs and now they all want to come over to try some this weekend after their softball tournaments!! We are very pleased with this recipe and I will make this again! Thanks Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
excellent - I would recommend marinating it for 2 hours at least. I added boiler onions, cherry tomatoes and squash. The recipe says that it makes 6 servings- maybe with rice or a side dish otherwise it makes two large servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
We loved these! I used regular bacon, and it worked out fine. I also marinated the chicken and green onions separately from the mushrooms, and then used the mushroom marinade to baste the kebabs. I thought I had way too much food (I doubled the recipe), but there were no leftovers. The only thing I would do differently next time, would be to use fresh pineapple, rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Good recipe but next time I will marinate longer than this time (3 hours). Added cherry tomatoes but definately felt that onions were needed. Also, this was the one time that I used low sodium soy sauce and bacon and I wish that I had used regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This recipe is PERFECT! Everyone loved these kabobs. The chicken was tender and juicy. I also marinated the mushrooms and the chicken individually. I marinated the chicken overnight, and the mushrooms for about 3 hours. It was very good, and a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States