Chicken and Bacon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very good comfort food. Tasty and filling. After reading other reviews, I also decided to veto the salt. Very glad I did as it was more than salty enough. Next time I make this I'll use reduced sodium chicken broth, and reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup. Should be perfect then :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Hands down, the best chowder ever! It even tastes better the next day! I only made minor tweaks: skipped the salt, substituted skim milk for the half and half and used cream of chicken (not mushroom) soup. It's a bit labor intensive prep-wise, but sooooo worth it. My boyfriend could not stop raving about it and he never had chowder before! :) I'm definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I loved this soup, my husband helped me make it (he normally doesnt cook) and I have never made a soup from scratch. I followed it except I used Half broth half stock it was great topped it with cheese and served it with sourdough bread, it was even better then next day and to add some substance for leftovers I added 2 cups of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Mmmmm. Yummy. I used cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. Left out the salt because I was using chicken boullion and water for the broth(salty enough). Also decreased the celery. Tastes similar to chicken wild rice soup. Very good and hearty meal. Served with buttered bread. Update: I found a product from Minute Rice, it's 2 individual cups of brown/wild rice that you pop in the microwave for a minute. I added a spoonful to my bowl of leftovers and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this last night for my husband, who doesn't like soup, and my 2 kids. Everyone Loved it! My husband had seconds and took leftovers to work for lunch. It will definitely become a family favorite. I forgot the carrots at the store, so it was prepared without them, but it didn't seem to matter. No one left hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLacey22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Pretty darn good! Made it twice (as I usually do) and second time used chopped mushrooms and added more chicken broth instead of the second can of mushroom soup to cut the calories. I also cut the half and half and used corn starch and cooked rice to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I also used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. It was very good my whole family loved it and was full off of 1 bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is WONDERFUL! I did have to add more broth to cover the veggies - I acually had to double it. Other than the broth and adjusting the salt/pepper to my family's taste I left recipe as is and it was FANTASTIC! Will be making regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I loved it.I made home made croutons and added cheese to the warm croutons on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup is amazing! I used Turkey Bacon and about 1 1/2 more chicken than the recipe called for. This recipe is definitely something I will be making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States