Chicken and Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 sherry and 1/2 chicken broth. And I added 1/2 cup Chardonnay. Used artichoke bottoms in place of artichoke hearts, as they are not as sharp tasting and bottoms are soft all the way through. I filleted the chicken breasts. Chicken was over cooked - my fault. Needed to shorten cooking time with such thin breast pieces. Really liked it, as it is easy and makes good left overs. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious and easy. The sauce was especially easy. I've managed to mess up many sauces, but this one was hard to mess up. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I followed the suggestion of some other reviewers and added a chopped onion and 3 cloves of garlic, I did not have any sherry so I used white wine instead as well as fresh rosemary. While we really enjoyed it if I were to make it again dh requested more mushrooms and I would have liked more artichokes. Instead of cutting the chicken into bite size pieces I'd probably slice it into thinner pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used a can of cream of mushroom soup and a little bit of water instead of real mushrooms and broth and it turned out very juicy and flavourful. I also sprinkled just a bit of poultry seasoning and bay seasoning on top of everything just before putting it in the oven. I cooked chicken breasts whole also instead of chopping them up. Went well with rice, but I think it'd best be served with mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeshaka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I have tried hard to like rosemary, really I have, but to me it tastes the way Pinesol smells. So instead of chopping it up where I might have to bite into a piece of it, I just placed half a sprig on top of the dish before baking to just perfume the food. DH thouht it was wonderful, but next time I'll use bay leaves instead. Also 3 pounds of chicken seemed like a lot, so I just used 2 large-ish chicken breasts. Everything else I kept the same. I did reduce the cooking time a bit to keep from over-cooking the chicken. This tasted incredible before I put on the rosemary, and it's certainly not the fault of the recipe that I can't stand the stuff. Thank you so much for the post, Christyj. I'll be making this again. With bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was fabulous, made a few changes based on family taste ~ doubled mushrooms, artichokes, and sauce. Left out Rosemary (kids don't like it) and served over wide egg noodles. Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is very tasty and easy as well. I added a tad more Sherry for flavor, but I like to cook with wines a lot. A definite rotation in our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was one of those really hearty meals that I will probably make every once in a while. I wasn't sure what to cook with it and served it with some French Bread. That was delicious with the sauce of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe was so yummy! I have never used sherry before and it turned out really good. This will definitely be a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this last night but didn't have some key ingredients like mushrooms and sherry but it still turned out really well. My kids loved it (3 and 1) which was shocking but I put it over whole wheat spaghetti and they call it white spaghetti. Will make it into our rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States