Chicken and Artichoke Pizza with Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I figured out a good solution to the sauce dilemma other reviewers were having. It's supposed to be a white pizza, so I made a very simple white sauce ( Combine 1 cup milk and 1 T. cornstarch in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in 2 T. butter, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. ground black pepper.) I spread this directly onto the crust then piled on the rest of the ingredients on as directed. I added some thawed and well-drained frozen chopped spinach. I also doubled the garlic and basil. Last modification- used a whole wheat thin crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This recipe was excellent. I did change it around a little though. I did not use roma tomatoes. I used pizza sauce, then I put on the chicken and artichokes, then cheese. Last, I sliced some small vine-ripened tomatoes and put them on top, then I sprinkled with basil. I love fresh tomatoes on pizza, but I like mine with sauce also. This was a big hit at my family lunch on Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Great recipe! I had leftover artichokes, and this was a delicious way to use them. I ended up making two pizzas out of it (the chicken is really way too much for one) by doubling the artichokes and increasing the mozzarella to 16oz and using 2 cups of drained chopped tomatoes. I also added a box of chopped, frozen spinach thawed and drained and a 4 oz container of feta cheese. It was put together like this: homemade crust brushed with melted butter and minced garlic was pre-baked, then spinach added, then tomatoes and basil, then chicken and artichokes, then feta cheese and mozzarella. Better than a gourmet restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was delicious. My only recommendation is to put the cheese on the bottom and the tomatoes, chicken, and artichokes on top of that. I found that the tomatoes made it a little runny and so the cheese and everything slid off then. It did have excellent flavor and I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was wonderful! One slice was filling enough for a whole meal. I used a light pesto base, and was able to use homegrown tomatoes, which made for excellent flavor. Fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAM1135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This was very tasty. I stuck to the spirit of the recipe, but made a few alterations. 1) I added the exquisite pizza sauce also from Allrecipes.com, 2) I use tofu mozzarella 3) I used a whole wheat pita bread instead of the crust. 4) Fresh basil is a must. I enjoyed this and it was very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I prepared it just as the recipe suggest, and my husband LOVED it. However, I would have liked it to have some sort of pesto or white sauce to add flavor. I will try to jazz it up a bit next time, if I can figure out an easy way to make non-tomato sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The combo of artichoke/garlic/chicken was to die for! After cooking the chicken and garlic in the boiled artichoke juice, it was sooo tasty and succulent; but when I added it on top of the pizza and then baked it, the chicken got a bit dried out... next time I might skip the pizza entirely and just put the chicken and artichoke over some pasta or something. I followed the recipe exactly and found the end product was a BIT bland until I added some freshly shaved parmesan on top and then it was great. If I make this pizza again, I might try a white sauce instead of tomatoes as it seems it might complement the artichoke/chicken flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishynumber2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This makes a great foundation for making an excellent white pizza, but is nicest (in my opinion) because it can easily be altered to one's own taste. I used pesto as a base (with lots of minced garlic), added cheese and drained artichokes and chicken (on my half). My boyfriend preferred to do without chicken on his half and added chopped onions instead, and loved it (neither of us care for tomatoes so we did without). This competes with the white pizza with artichokes we've ordered at a nearby pizza place, and is even nicer and more convenient when we make it ourselves. I may have changed the recipe a bit, but I'm glad for the inspiration. I will make this pizza again, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was some darn good pizza. Reminded me of pizza you get at a "real" gourmet pizza place. Very tasty and hearty, I made it for myself one weekend and it lasted me for the whole weekend. I will definitely make again-- even for casual company, it's that good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States